Weather Forecast


Dowson to chair Cass board


 WALKER – Commissioner Jim Dowson, Walker, will chair the Cass County Board in 2011. Commissioner Jeff Peterson, Hackensack, will be vice chair.

Before the board's first meeting this year on Tuesday, Judge David Harrington swore into office re-elected incumbents Dowson, Commissioner Bob Kangas, Recorder Katie Norby and County Attorney Christopher Strandlie. The judge also swore in newly elected Sheriff Tom Burch and Commissioner Neal Gaalswyk, East Gull Lake.

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet?

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us at and we can help you.

Sarah Nelson
Sarah Nelson joined the Brainerd Dispatch in April 2010 and works as a online reporter, content editor and staff writer. She is a world traveler, accused idealist and California native now braving the winters of Central Minnesota. She believes in the power of human resolve and hopes to be part of something that makes history by bringing an end to injustice in the world. Sarah has worked as a criminal background researcher, high school civics teacher, grant writer, and contributing writer with — tackling every issue from global poverty to bio-degradable bicycles. Her favorite thing about living in Minnesota is July. Sarah left the Brainerd Dispatch in April 2014.
(218) 855-5879