Weather Forecast



Cody Bennett Platta, son of Mark and Julie Platta, Brainerd, will be inducted into the Upsilon Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Central Lakes College.

Team 7D Stars of the Trimester for first trimester at Forestview Middle School were Jessica Mickelson, Nathan Rhode, Joe Haivala, Emma Anderson, Eli Albrecht, Taylor Erickson, Kayla Amundson, Taiya Holmberg, Abby Thorkelson, Luke West, Peder Smith, Carina Figliuzzi, Kristen Johnshoy, Tabitha Villnow and Tristan Brecht.

The following students recently graduated from Bemidji State University: Jay Rakowski, Jesse Ray, Joshua Whirley, Brainerd; Paul Hofmann, Fort Ripley; Colbi Ikola, Merrifield; Christopher Konecne, Nisswa; Tiffany Bergem, Natalia Rosario, Kali Welu, Pequot Lakes; Britany Miller, Pine River; and Britne Weiher, Verndale.

The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning, in partnership with Astellas Pharma US, Inc. ("Astellas"); Bayer Corporation; and ServiceMaster, recently announced that Heidi Auel, a science teacher at Motley-Staples Middle School in Motley, was chosen from hundreds of applications nationwide to participate as a Maitland P. Simmons-NSTA Fellow in the 2010 NSTA New Science Teacher Academy. The only teacher selected from Minnesota, Auel will participate with 47 other science teachers from across the country in a year-long professional development program designed to help promote quality science teaching, enhance teacher confidence and classroom excellence and improve teacher content knowledge.