Weather Forecast



Bemidji State University recently named the following students to the dean’s list for fall semester: Tracy Marie Bock, Alexandra Marie Donnay, Carlie Nicole Kramer, Abigail Patrice Larson, Michael Don Owen, Hannah Elizabeth Puttbrese, Melissa Sue Robinson, Rachael Joan Schumer, Nicholas Robert Whichello, Baxter; Joleen Ann Barry, Steven Stokke Berndgen, Jared Earl Erickson, Brianna Constance Frisch, Karey Lee Jay, Nicholas M. Jelacie, Kelsey Malinda Johnson, Brianna Lynn Kirkvold, Stephanie Lynn Morgan and Christopher Thomas Padrnos, Brainerd; Daniel James Oswald, Breezy Point; Bryce Charles Tesdahl, Crosby; Gregory Robert Flohr, Crosslake; Joseph Darryl Pitassi, Emily; Grant Alexander Gmeinder and Shawn Michael Killeaney, Fort Ripley; Alexander David Gapinski, Hackensack; Bruce Alan Larson and Kayla Rose Sorben, Ironton; Laura Beth Duscher, Anthony Dean Hansen, Kayla Virginia Holste, Emily Marie Justin, Logan Michael Kalis, Ashley Lauren Tenney, Brittany Marie Trettel, Christopher John Witt, Little Falls; Miranda Jade Milless, Motley; Debra Leay Cruz, Brett Donald Nelson and Andrew Joseph Petersen, Nisswa; Josh John Andrea, Brianna Marie Berendt, Chad Henry Britz, Jeremy Lee Monson, Nicole Marie Schmidtbauer, Brian Robert Stangl and Trace Robert Swanson, Pierz; Holly Renae Evans, Pillager; Rose Margaret Puleo, Jacob Adam Ward and Kassandra Anne Ward, Pine River; Sarah Elizabeth Andres, Randall; Brandon Michael Haglin and Michael Thomas Tappe, Staples; Kelsey Ann Booth, Jason James Runyan and Christina Lee Schmitz, Verndale; Amy Marie Brown, Adam Richard Fischer, Whitney Elizabeth Greenwood, Heather Danielle Haman, Amanda Beth Malone, Christopher Joseph Peluso, Joshua Charles Rowe and Desiree Lynn Seibert, Wadena; Amelia Ki Anderson, Molly Jo Arola, Marilyn F. Corson, Matthew Vaughn Ellis, Casey Marie Fisher, Katie Ann Holsapple, Breah Marie Johnson, Taylor J. Knight, Ellise Marie Loomis, Cassandra Marie Patterson and Jenna M. Reque, Walker.

Melissa Hanson, Brainerd, recently graduated with a bachelor of science degree from the University of Wisconsin-Superior.

Alexandria Technical & Community College recently recognized several students who competed at the local SkillsUSA competitions at an awards ceremony. Students who receive top awards are eligible to compete at the state competitions held in March. Students enrolled in the carpentry, concrete mason, construction site supervisor, diesel mechanics, energy technical specialist, mechatronics; machine tool technology, marine & small engine mechanics, mechanical drafting, design, and engineering and welding technology programs were eligible to compete in 15 categories.

SkillsUSA is a nationwide partnership of business and industry, vocational students and instructors. Its goals are to motivate students, teach leadership skills, assist teachers in producing quality occupational training and provide quality workers to business and industry.

Ben Radniecki, Lake Shore, took third place in the competition in the welding technology category.

In 2004, Vicki and Greg Spofford established a scholarship at St. Francis Music Center in honor of Vicki’s parents, Arley and Naomi Lyseng. Both of the Lyseng’s were lifetime music educators, touching the lives of thousands of children. So to continue the legacy, the Spofford family made a donation to establish this annual scholarship.

This year’s recipient is Talitha Decker, daughter of John and Susie Decker, Motley, who studies both cello and piano at the Music Center. She has studied cello for more than five years under the direction of Celo V’ec. She also plays in the Sforzando Orchestra and has begun teaching cello as well. Decker is in the 11th grade. She studies online with the Minnesota Virtual Academy.

Lance Zetah, son of Rick and Jeannine Zetah, Brainerd, will attend Scholars Day at St. Cloud State University. Scholars Day is an annual scholarship competition for incoming first-year students at St. Cloud State where students interview for scholarships and discuss opportunities available through the University Honors Program with faculty and staff. Students are selected for this honor based on high school GPA, class rank and standardized test scores. Zetah attends Brainerd High School and has received the Male Freshman of the Year award from Central Lakes College.

The following students have been chosen to receive $300 Student-of-the-Month scholarships from the Brainerd Elks Lodge No. 615: Kylee Hohiesel, daughter of Brad and Jill Hohiesel, and student at Pierz Healy High School; Daniel Riewer, son of Denos and Karen Riewer, Pillager, and student at Pillager High School; and Alex Viellette, son of Kirby and Amy Viellette, and student at Little Falls High School. These awards will be presented at the May banquet.

Riverside Students of the Month for January include Erica Lowe, Grace Haglin, Mason Chisholm, Gabe Wagner, Carter Springer, Hudson Hubbard, Elijah Halvorson, Jenna Hanson, Alex Holsapple, Theo Lund, Gracie Simonson, Cole Beyer, Kate Chaussee, Tayden Holden, Cormac Shanoff, Madison Holm, Elsa Overland, Summer Mills, Dade Mattson, Evan Storbakken, Alex Engholm, Mary Hoskins, Jordyn Sullivan, Ella Norlin and Brady Anderson.

Zachary R. Heidmann, Baxter, was among the 2,985 North Dakota State University students to be placed on the fall 2010 dean’s list.

Two local students have earned the distinction of being named to the dean’s list for the 2010 fall semester at the College of Saint Benedict: Kaila Eberhardt, daughter of Julie and Dan Eberhardt, Baxter, and Ronia Gramer, daughter of Ron and Suzanne Gramer, Brainerd.

Andrew Schulke, son of Timothy and Denene Schulke, Baxter, was named to the honor roll for the early fall term at Brown College, Twin Cities. He is working toward a bachelor of science degree in Visual Communications.

Students of the Month for February at the Area Education Center are Allie Berg and Ashley Kasel.

Tori Palony, Baxter, was named to the Lake Superior College, Duluth, 2010 fall semester dean’s list.

Ryan Schultz, son of David and Sharon Schultz, Brainerd, was named to the dean’s list at St. Cloud Technical and Community College.

Minnesota State University, Moorhead, has named the following to the dean’s list for fall semester: Kelly Nelson and Neal Thornbloom, Aitkin; Tyler Anderson, Matthew Ashburn, Leah Hight, Noah Kleckner, Maria Lendobeja, Daniel Markow, Meghan McAllister, Kimberly Miller, Hilary Smith, Jinna Toft and Rebekah Wicklund, Brainerd; Monica Campbell, Lexie Miller, Hailee Palony, Jackilyn Smith and Troy Viau, Baxter; Melissa Wentworth, Merrifield; Brittany Ostrowski, Deerwood; Jennifer Glenski, Colton Maher, Angela Mott and Michael Sullivan, Pequot Lakes; Benjamin Wiebolt and Dominic Squires, Motley; Kayla Kapsner, Catherine Kippley and Ashley St. Sauver, Pierz; Dacia Carpenter and Dana Motschenbacher, Wadena; Mollie Hedberg, Brittney Rother and Scarlett Rudlang, Pine River; Jordan Houselog, Kassie Martin and Elizabeth Willgohs, Staples; Kaitlyn Berry, Brett Johnson and Megan Spilchal, Walker.