Weather Forecast


W-DC High School students receive receive scholarships

WADENA — More than $38,000 in scholarships were awarded to Wadena-Deer Creek High School 2011 seniors at the school’s annual senior awards program on May 18 at M-State in Wadena.

WDC High School Principal Tyler Church served as master of ceremonies at the annual senior scholarship/awards program where members of the community presented students with their scholarship and/or recognition award.

“I’m extremely proud of our graduates and the scholarships and awards they’ve received. It’s a reflection of the quality education these students earn here at Wadena-Deer Creek Public Schools,” Church said. 

According to Church, graduates continue to receive scholarships throughout the remainder of the summer. The following are the scholarships presented either prior to or at the ceremony. Church said WDC is grateful to all of its scholarship sponsors, as well as its alumni, businesses and friends for their generous donations.

Arvig Communications Scholarship ($3,000) – Alex Andrews.

American Legion (Plaque) – Duke Harrison.

American Legion Auxiliary (Plaque) – Haley Anderson.

Bill Burns Memorial Scholarship ($800) – Brandon Schmitz.

Bluffton Lions Brian McGrane Scholarship ($500) – Rachael Carlisle.

Edith Bottemiller Scholarship ($1,000) – Brandon Schmitz.

Florence Claydon Scholarship ($500) – Elena Roggenkamp.

Fox/Hess Scholarship (Plaque) – Dylan Anderson, Rachel Craig.

George Krier Memorial Scholarship (Plaque) – Taylor Bienusa.

Jim Roes Student Athletes (Plaque) – Rachel Craig, Bryan Silvers.

M.M. Bottemiller Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – Rachel Craig.

Mason Brothers Scholarships ($1,000 each) – Duke Harrison, Kelsey Browne.

P.E.O. Scholarship ($500) – Meggie Rentz.

Pepsi Scholarships ($500 each) – Courtney Volkmann, Bryan Silvers, Bradley Becker.

Pleidrup Award ($500) – Meggie Rentz.

Polman Transfer Scholarship ($200) – Brandon Schmitz.

Rosemary Harrison Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – Meggie Rentz.

Rotary Club Awards ($900 each) – Rachel Craig, Cory Tumberg.

Rotary Club Award – Tech ($750) – Jordan Jacobson.

Russ Davis Scholarship ($2,500) – Dylan Anderson.

Taner P. Eiswald Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Alex Andrews.

Tranby Special Olympics Awards (Certificates) – Tawnie Blair, Tanya Gumz, Mathew Rohr.

Tri-County Hospital Award ($1,000) – Rachael Carlisle.

VFW Post 3922 Scholarship ($500 each) – Jenna Geiser, Kyle Moench, Molly Barrett.

Wadena Lions Club Scholarships ($500 each) – Kelsey Browne, Rachael Carlisle, Christina Wolden, Keeley Timm, Cory Tumberg.

Wadena Female Volunteer Award ($300) – Erica Miron.

WDC School Employees Scholarship ($500 each) – Bradley Becker, Erica Miron.

Weyhrauch Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Haley Anderson.

Wolverine Athlete of the Year Awards (Plaque) – Jared Wegscheid, Courtney Volkmann.

Dollars for Scholars Scholarships ($500 each) – Kyle Moench, Molly Barrett, Jenna Geiser, Kelsey Browne, Scott Fillhouer, Courtney Volkmann, Erica Miron.

Doris Felton Scholarship ($750 each) – Duke Harrison, Amanda Perkins, Christina Wolden.

Ethel Gustafson Scholarship ($750) – Rachel Craig.

Elaine Lundeen Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Keeley Timm.

Rex and Alma McDonald Scholarship ($500) – Haley Anderson.

Harold and Edythe Peterson Family Scholarship ($1,500 each) – Alex Andrews, Bryan Silvers.

Ruth and Frank Robinson Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Kyle Moench.

Todd-Wadena Electric Cooperative Scholarship ($350) – Kyle Moench.

Mid-Central Federal Savings Bank Business Scholarship ($500) – Cory Tumberg.

W-DC Wrestling Boosters Scholarship ($500) – Dylan Anderson.

Leslie Helle Scholarship ($500) – Rachael Carlisle.

Expressions Salon Award ($100) – Kyle Moench, Haley Anderson, Keeley Timm.

Given prior to ceremony:

President’s Scholarship from St. John’s and St. Ben’s – Dylan Anderson, Keeley Timm.

Benedictine Scholarship from St. Scholastica – Dylan Isola.

Miss Wadena Pageant Scholarship – Haley Anderson.

Concordia Excellence Scholarship – Haley Anderson, Molly Barrett.

Wadena Masonic Lodge Scholarship – Haley Anderson.

Northwestern Presidential Scholarship – Alex Andrews.

Northwestern Leadership Award Scholarship – Alex Andrews.

BSU Presidential Scholarship – Bradley Becker, Rachel Craig.

BSU Campus Honors Scholarship – Bradley Becker.

UMD Academic Scholarship – Duke Harrison.

NDSU Presidential Scholarship – Erica Miron, Bryan Silvers.

Concordia Music Scholarship – Elena Roggenkamp.

Concordia Presidential Achievement Award – Elena Roggenkamp.

BSU Volleyball Scholarship – Courtney Volkmann, Kelsi Crawford, Rachel Craig.