Weather Forecast


BHS yearbook adviser on paid leave

Primaries are set in several area races

Central Minnesota voters will have plenty of contested elections to sustain their political interest — or not — when the Aug. 14 primary comes around.

Filings closed Tuesday for county, judicial and legislative seats.

Both of Crow Wing County’s county board seats will feature primaries with four candidates running for Commissioner Phil Trusty’s District 1 seat and five candidates running for Commissioner Doug Houge’s District 5 seat.

In District 1 the candidates are Montgomery “Monty” Jensen, Doug Kern, Paul Koering and Trusty.

In District 5 the candidates are Ronda Cool, Kris Hasskamp, Houge, Tom Nixon and David Allan Pundt. Craig Nathan of rural Brainerd filed Tuesday for the Crow Wing County Soil and Water Conservation Board’s District 4 post. He will run against Bob Becker who filed earlier. Also filing earlier for the Soil and Water supervisor posts earlier were Leonard Koering in District 1 and Robert Albrecht in District 5.

DFLers in Senate District 10 will choose between Taylor Stevenson and Anne Marcotte in the primary. Also filing for the District 10 Senate seat was Republican Carrie Ruud.

A last-day filing by DFLer David Schaaf of McGregor will mean a DFL primary in House District 10B. Schaaf will run against Joe Radinovich of Crosby, the DFL-endorsed candidate. Schaaf could not be contacted Tuesday night.

The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library lists David Schaaf as a former DFL senator who represented Anoka and Ramsey counties from 1973-80. Dale Lueck is the Republican candidate for House District 10B.

In Senate District 5 DFLers will choose between Sen. Tom Saxhaug, the DFL-endorsed candidate and Laverne H. Pederson in a primary race. The Republican candidate is Sen. John Carlson, R-Bemidji.

Sen. Paul Gazelka, R-Brainerd, and former DFL Rep. Al Doty of Royalton will be the candidates for the Senate District 9 seat.

In House District 5A the candidates are Rep. Larry Howes, R-Walker, and Rep. John Persell, DFL-Bemidji.

The House District 5B candidates are Rep. Carolyn McElfatrick, R-Deer River, and Rep. Tom Anzelc, DFL-Bovey.

November’s House District 10A race will pit Rep. John Ward, DFL-Baxter, against Chris Kellett, a Brainerd Republican.

House District 9A candidates are Republican Mark Anderson of Lake Shore and Democrat Don Niles of Wadena.

House District 9B candidates are Republican Ron Kresha of Little Falls and DFLer Adrian Welle of Pierz.

In Aitkin County Laurie Westerlund is unopposed in the District 2 county board race. Brian Napstad and William “Bill” Pratt are running for the District 4 county board seat. Candidates for Soil and Water posts are Roger Vogt, District 2; Franklin Turnock, District 3; Bob Janzen, District 4; and Robert Roseberg of Isle who filed Tuesday in District 5.

Cass County’s District 1 Commissioner Neal Gaalswyk will run unopposed in District 1. Commissioner Robert Kangas and Edward “Ed” Nelson will run for the District 2 seat. Philip M. Kinnunen and Commissioner Jeff Peterson will run in District 3. Commissioner Dick Downham will run unopposed in District 5. Three Soil and Water candidates will run unopposed. They are Ken Laporte in District 2, James E. Ballenthin in District 3 and Dave Harder in District 4.

Six candidates will run in the Morrison County primary for the District 1 commissioner seat. They are Sharon Ballou, Chuck Forss, Bob Harmsen, Clint Kathrien, Robert Marsog and Kevin Maurer. Jeffrey J. Jelinski and Jeff Schilling are candidates for the District 2 county board seat. Rich Collins and Randy Winscher will run for commissioner for District 3. Morrison’s Soil and Water supervisor candidates are all unopposed. They are William “Bill Faber in District 1, Tom Brutscher in District 2 and Cynthia R. Anez in District 5.

In the Ninth Judicial District voters will elect four judges. The candidates are Judge Shari Schluchter, Court 1 (Bemidji), Judge John G. Melbye and Dianna Sweeney, Court 10 (Bemidji), Judge Richard A. Zimmerman Court 10 (Brainerd) and Judge Erik Askegaard, Court 13 (Brainerd).

MIKE O’ROURKE, associate editor, may be reached at 855-5860 or He may be followed at

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889