Weather Forecast


Extra Credit - July 30

Timothy S. Yeh, son of Timothy and Kathleen Yeh, Nisswa, was named to the Ohio Northern University dean’s list for the spring semester 2012-13.

The following are recent graduates of Concordia College: Nathan Schaefbauer, Kate Stevenson, Jacob Stunek and Briana Tower, all of Baxter; Joshua Hermerding, Brooke Lange, Lane Mimmack, Krystle Radtke, Bronson Shepherd, Patrick Stenglein and Emily Stunek, all of Brainerd; Kassandra Owens, Breezy Point; Laura Brutscher, Kyle Czech, Amy Daniels, Lauren Hanson and Nicole Witucki, all of Little Falls; Braden Carkhuff and Sarah Nick, both of Pequot Lakes; Stephen Gertken, Pine River; Katie Edin and Tyler Hoemberg, both of Staples.

Jonathan Severson, Deerwood, recently graduated from Benedictine College with a bachelor of science degree in biochemistry.

The spring semester dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College includes Cami Andersen and Courtney Tusler, Brainerd; Nicole Hansen, Deerwood; Elizabeth Hauer and Emileah ZumBerge, Little Falls.

Recent graduates at Gustavus Adolphus College include Turner Johnson, Motley; and Lucas Youngvorst, Staples.

Robert Veith, Brainerd, was named to the dean’s list at UW-Superior.

John A. VanLandschoot, son of Allen and Laura VanLandschoot, Baxter, recently graduated from the Sturm Law School at Denver University. John is a 2004 graduate of Brainerd High School and a 2009 graduate of Regis University. He’ll take the bar exam in August.

The University of Minnesota Crookston chancellor’s list includes Christian Rohloff, Brainerd; Alexandra Buscher, Merrifield, and Jeremy Sibert, Verndale.

Heather Johnson, daughter of Dave and Rita Johnson, Brainerd, recently received the North Dakota State University Freshman Academic Scholarship in the amount of $3,000 and the Textbook Scholarship in which she will receive $1,000 credit for textbooks for her first year at NDSU.

Gaven Motschenbacher, son of Don and Kim Motschenbacher, Brainerd, recently received the North Dakota State University Freshman Academic Scholarship in the amount of $4,000 and the Textbook Scholarship in which he will receive $1,000 credit for textbooks for his first year at NDSU.

Ross Lindholm, Brainerd, recently graduated from Vermilion Community College.

The following students were named to Minnesota State University Moorhead’s dean’s list: Jenna Andres, Pierz; Emalee Arends, Pequot Lakes; Brian Ashburn, Brainerd; Abbie Becker, Staples; Charles Belanger, Pequot Lakes; Kaitlyn Berry, Walker; Cassandra Brausen, Hackensack; Shalene Cole, Brainerd; Stephanie Dailey, Verndale; Kayla Duffney, Crosby; Clayton Foster, Pequot Lakes; Jennifer Freiday, Brainerd; Laura Goll, Baxter; Erin Gritzmacher, Pierz; Kayla Huether, Baxter; Brett Johnson, Walker; Kayla Kapsner, Pierz; Catherine Kippley, Pierz; Jackilyn Kleckner, Baxter; Maria Lendobeja, Brainerd; Cori Lundmark, Crosslake; Charles Miller, Aitkin; Lexie Miller, Baxter; Ashley Millner, Pierz; Hailee Palony, Baxter; Anna Petersen, Randall; Benjamin Pontius, Baxter; Thomas Poser, Randall; Morgan Prouty, Crosslake; Trevor Rohloff, Pillager; Kelli Roline, Verndale; Brittney Rother, Pine River; Scarlett Rudlang, Pine River; Heather Smith, Fort Ripley; Neal Thornbloom, Aitkin; Jinna Toft, Brainerd; Troy Viau, Baxter; and Elizabeth Willgohs, Staples.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889