Weather Forecast


UPDATE: Final Minnesota legislative bills may be passed in middle of the night

College in School collaboration held at CLC

Central Lakes College (CLC) in Brainerd on Thursday (Aug. 23) hosted about 200 high school instructors, counselors and administrators for a day of collaboration to strengthen the nationally accredited College in Schools (CIS) program.

CIS is a partnership between CLC and 31 high schools that gives high schools an opportunity to strengthen their academic course offerings while providing high school juniors or seniors a jump start on earning college credit. Students experience the academic rigor of college curriculum and strengthen their study skills in a high school environment. Upon high school graduation, students who have participated in the CIS program make a smooth transition to a college setting.

Schools from Greenway (Coleraine) to the north and Monticello to the south are providing college-level courses approved and monitored in collaboration with instructors at the college.

While enrolled in the College in the Schools program, high school students save thousands of dollars in tuition and develop the skills and understanding of college curriculum necessary for future college success.

School representatives attending the in-service:

Aitkin –— Kelly Blake, Ronald Cox, Andrea Del Zoppo, Chris Halvorson, Scott Miller, Dustin Richters, Marie Zettel, Jake Jaskowiak, Jason Henke, Nicole Doyle and Chad Pederson.

Brainerd — Andrea Rusk, Steve Razidlo, Linda Dockter, Rod Reuer, Joel Loftstrom, Craig Rezac and Shelly Streed.

Browerville — Barry Reigstad, Cheryl Wyatt, Lindsay Niehoff and Patrick Sutlief.

Crosby-Ironton — Jessica Dietz, Wayne Ellingsen, Barb Ethen, Andrea Gaffney, Mike Gindorff, Bob Kuschel, Debbie Marlton, Gordy Sharp, Lisa Ryberg and Jim Christenson.

Deer River — Patrice Curtiss, Mark Drotts, Dale Marleau, Polly Sheppard and Lisa Cooney.

Eagle Valley — Stephanie Eckel.

Greenway — Theresa Berg, Jodi Warner and Dave Dimich.

Infinity Online — Jennifer Ernest, Barry Fischer, Jaime Strohmeier, Jason Thelen and Jo McClure.

Isle — Loni Olson Stan Miller.

Little Falls — Conrad Schwinn, Ann Graeve, Lyn Gwost, Michael Huck, Mike Kaluza, Anthony Kula, Randy Tabatt, Debra Yliniemi-Alin, Kolbi Grant and Tim Bjorge.

Long Prairie-Grey Eagle —Jeff Kent, Roger Bachmeier, Barry Bennett, Stacey Custer, Erin Gillie, Chet Hudalla, Jennifer Meagher, Brandon Puck, Luan Thomas-Brunkhorst, Paul Urman, Needa Zetah, Jonathan Young and Paul Weinzierl.

Menahga — Jlayne Torma and Dan Stifter.

Monticello — Brad Hanson, Andrea Drapcho and Joel Lundin.

Nashwauk-Keewatin — Troy Grunewald, Patrick Tucci and Jeff Britten.

Nay Ah Shing — Samantha Koch.

Northland — Lin Benson, Shem Daugherty, Barry Fischer, Duane Giffen, Tim Hasse, Michael Horn, Jacoline Kitchenhoff, Carol Procopio and Joseph Akre.

Onamia — Larry Ronglien.

Parkers Prairie — Aaron Bumgarner, Dave O’Brien, Liz Foley and Carey Johnson.

Royalton — Joel Swenson, Jeff Schoenrock and Ron Makela.

Pequot Lakes — Tracy Anick, Lindsey Kaiser, Meghan Kazmierczak, John Kotaska, Tony Maurer, Dan Moddes, Tracy Tschida, Michael Sommersness, Ben Starns and Chip Rankin.

Pierz — Dean Dahmen, Randy Fischer, Gwen Gruber, Diana Hauan, Mark Jensen, Jessica LeBlanc, Kelly Sauer, Ruth Stuckmayer, Simon Waltman and Jessica Janski.

Pine River-Backus — Nancy Aimers, Duane Anderson, Isaak Anderson, Kyle Bergem, Catherine Breannan, Thomas Demars, Richard Larson, Mary Ruth Sigan, Catherine Bettino and Trent Langemo.

Sauk Centre — Kelly Buysse, Mike Ellens, Barb Hartmann, Margaret Kitterman, Bonie Nelson, Brian Riley, James Shreiner, Melissa Vorderbruggen, Kellie Wehrman, Shelly Backes, Erin Shermak and Belinda Selfors.

Sebeka — Cody Geiser, Michael Heino and Dave Fjeldheim.

Staples-Motley — Lorna Bendson, Donna Bestland, Clay Houselog, Tracey Kloeckl-Jimenez, Jill Kneisl-Schneider, Jerry Reck, Onni Sharp-Anderson and Penny Olsen.

Swanville — Margaret Stenvold Peterson.

Upsala — Jessica Hovland, Caitlyn Anderson, Jayne Glaser and Verne Capelle.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889