Weather Forecast


Minnesota National Guard recognizes soldiers

Minnesota National Guard recognizes soldiers

The Minnesota National Guard will recognize four soldiers for their significant contributions to the Minnesota Guard as well as their communities. The Soldiers to be recognized are: Brig. Gen. Timothy M. Kennedy, Col. Leslie F. Chisholm, Chief Warrant Officer 5 Larry J. Sharon and 1st Sgt. Merlin E. Ellefson.

Additionally, there will be a tower dedication ceremony held on Camp Ripley in honor of five aviators who lost their lives in a tragic air accident. Those aviators were: Chief Warrant Officer 4 James Nichols, Chief Warrant Officer 2 Mark Nelson, Chief Warrant Officer 2 Dale Schmidt, Staff Sgt. Larry Roalstad and Staff Sgt. James Teel.

The public is invited to join the memorialization ceremony held at Camp Ripley at 9 a.m. Friday starting at the Camp Ripley Airfield Tower, followed by a chapel service at 11 a.m. and induction into the Court of Honor at 1:30 p.m.

For more information on the event please contact Sgt. Timothy Krouth at 320-616-2714 or

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889