Weather Forecast


Kids got out and voted

If it was up to the students who voted Tuesday in the Kids Voting Brainerd Area, President Barack Obama would stay in office.

Nancy Cross, coordinator of the Kids Voting Brainerd Area, said 4,000 ballots were printed with a 35 percent voter turn out. Students in kindergarten through 12th grade who attend public, charter, alternative, private, parochial and home schools can participate in Kids Voting. Kids Voting in Brainerd was established in 1996 and is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that educates and engages students. The program is a community-based solution to combat voter apathy among young adults.

“It doesn’t matter who the kids vote for,” said Cross. “It’s about the process and teaching students about civic duty.”

The students voted yes to the Marriage Amendment solely between one man and a woman, with 377 yes votes, or 54.7 percent. There were 312 no votes or 45.3 percent. The students also voted yes for the Voter Identification Amendment, with 360 yes votes or 55.1 percent. There were 293 no votes, or 44.9 percent.

Other results were:

• United States Senator: Amy Klobuchar won with 459 votes

• Minnesota State Supreme Court Chief Justice: Lorie Skjerven Gildea with 434 votes

• U.S. Congressional District 8: Chip Cravaack won with 463 votes and Richard Nolan had 440 votes

• State Senate, District 10: Taylor Stevenson had 369 votes and Carrie Ruud had 365

• State Representative, District 10A: John Ward won with 442 votes and Chris Kellet had 277 votes

• State Representative, District 10B: Joe Radinovich won with 338 votes and Dale Lueck had 302

• Crow Wing County Commissioner, District 1: Paul Koering won with 383 votes and Philip Trusty had 270

• Crow Wing County Commissioner, District 3: Kris Hasskamp won with 299 votes and Doug Houge had 251

• Brainerd At-Large: Laura Bisted had 137 votes and Chip Borkenhagen had 128 votes to fill the two open seats

• Brainerd, Alderman Ward 1: Dave Pritschet with 177 votes

• Brainerd, Alderman Ward 3: Jeff Czeczok with 136 votes

• Baxter City Council members: Mark Cross with 186 votes and Tom Hice with 171 votes to fill the seats

• Nisswa City Council members: Gary Johnson had 154 votes and Don Jacobson had 140 votes to fill the seats

• Brainerd School Board: Reed Campbell had 178 votes and Bill Cruz had 184 votes to lead the field

JENNIFER STOCKINGER may be reached at or 855-5851. Follow me on Twitter at