Weather Forecast


Extra Credit-Jan. 28

AEC December students of the month were Bailey Torgerson and Justin White.

Erin Renee Karlsgodt, Brainerd, a student at Union College in Barbourville, Ky., was recently named to the school’s fall 2012 dean’s list.

Taylor Anderson, Wadena, has achieved a place on the University of Evansville (Indiana) Dean’s List for academic achievements during the Fall Semester 2012. Anderson is majoring in Health Services Administration.

Maxwell Seymour, eighth grade, son of Matthew and Casey Seymour, Brainerd, has achieved the Headmaster’s Honor Roll at St. John’s Prep School for fall semester 2012.

Rebecca J. Yeh, daughter of Timothy and Kathleen Yeh, Nisswa, has been named to the Ohio Northern University deans’ list for the fall semester 2012-13. She is a junior majoring in pharmacy.

Timothy S. Yeh, son of Timothy and Kathleen Yeh, Nisswa, has been named to the Ohio Northern University deans’ list for the fall semester 2012-13. He is a sixth year majoring in pharmacy.

The North Dakota State University dean’s list is as follows: Kristin Salmonson, Aitkin; Kathryn Chandler, Brittany Hanson, Zoe Houle, Ryan Solstad and Nathan Walton, Baxter; Erik Aakhus, Kelsey Johnson, Kimberly LaFond, Hannah McAllister, Michael Montgomery, Gaven Motschenbacher, Allyson Patton, Katie Scholl and Trevor Thompson, Brainerd; Katelyn Schmidt and Brian Williams, Breezy Point; Tyler Dickie, Crosby; Johanna Christenson and Lisa Zimmerman, Deerwood; Nathan Almen, Hannah Bednarek, Michael Borders, Gerard Kokett, Victoria Nouis and Ian Warner, Little Falls; Sara Wentworth, Merrifield; Kassandra Myers, Travis Myers and Dylan Neururer, Motley; Steven Duval, Pequot Lakes; Bradden Parks and Amanda Ruhl, Pillager; Hannah Barrett, David Dukowitz, Alyssa Haglin, Cydney Hasselberg and Alicia Widmark, Staples; Charley Cantrell, Erica Miron, Tanner Muehler, Bryan Silvers, Scott Syverson, Jacqueline Tellers and Devon Tucker, Wadena; and Alexandra Barber, Ciera Clyde and Jacob Jones, Walker.

The North Dakota State University Math Club helped a record number of students prepare for fall semester finals. One of the student tutors for the fall 2012 Math-In was Sonya Hills, Brainerd. An all-time high 367 students attended the Math-In, a daylong tutoring session on Dec. 8 where Math Club volunteers helped students brush up for finals. The fall 2011 Math-In previously held the record with 358 participants, while the spring 2012 Math-In had 353 participants.

The St. Cloud State dean’s list is as follows: Kellie Barnaby, April Denny, Christopher Denny, Whitney Joyce, Elena Nicoski, Kathleen Sullivan, Aimee Tagtmeier and Whitney Thune, Baxter; Charles Arnzen, Katie Benson, Anne Hayes, Erica Lange, Allyson Olshanski, Michael Ouellette and Jennifer Snaza, Brainerd; Angelo DiMartino, Deerwood; Janna Baumgartner, Daniel Benson, Michael Chock, Marissa Gessell, Heather Gradin, Tracy Hershey, Meagan Holtz, Aaron Johnson, Amanda Kroll, Logan Magnan, Maysie Marcus, Megan Pile, Kayla Pillen, Shawna Sachs, Andrea Simmonds, Jeffery Udy, Kyle Waytashek and Kendra Wilson, Little Falls; Bradley Waidelich, Nisswa; Callie Bursch, Megan Holderness and April Hulke, Pequot Lakes; Gabrielle Boser, Katelyn Fuhrman, Maria Janson, Dwight Przybilla and Aaron Schmidtbauer, Pierz; Amber Jensen and Colton Parks, Pillager; Denin Oliver and Amanda Swanson, Pine River.

The following students were named to the first semester, 2012-13 dean’s list at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota: Joshua Korver, Little Falls; and Maria Glenski, Pequot Lakes.

The following local residents were among more than 1,170 students from Rochester Community and Technical College who made the dean’s list for fall semester 2012 ending this past December: Kristen Allord, Brainerd, and Samantha Laderer, Motley.

Kylie Beltz, Pine River, attained membership to the Curry College (Milton, Mass.) dean’s list for the fall 2012 term.

Local students from the area graduated from University of Wisconsin-Stout in December: LeeAnn Fouquette, Baxter, and Jodi Larson, Baxter.

The Pequot Lakes Middle School second quarter students of excellence were Coltan Levenske, Madeline Morrison, Madison Chiodi, Sam Pfeiffer, Clare Ganley, Austin Evenson, Kaisa Bernu and Matt Peterson. The artists of the second quarter were Blake Milner, Madeline Pluimer, Nicole Young, Luke Ryan, Eric Schulz, Alexandra Kotaska, Annie Villa and Sheridan Wilson.

The University of Wisconsin-Madison has recognized students named to the dean’s list for the fall semester of the 2012-2013 academic year: Cameron Holmes, Baxter; Alexander Gross and Nicole Marquart, Brainerd; Andy Lee, Garrison; and Amber Moberg, Little Falls.

Kelsey Binggeli, Baxter, was among the students named to the fall term dean’s list at Augustana College.

Blake Thiesse was named to the Itasca Community College dean’s list for fall semester.

Samantha Forster, eighth grader at Aitkin High School, was recently part of the Junior National Young Leaders Conference in Washington, D.C., which coincided with the Inauguration of the President of the United States. Inaugural Scholars were able to attend a special viewing party and luncheon where they watched the grandeur of the inaugural parade on large viewing screens, as the President, Vice President and their families made their way down Pennsylvania Avenue from the U.S. Capitol Building to the White House. Scholars were also able to attned an exclusive Gala Inaugural Celebration at National Harbor.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889