Weather Forecast


Another day, another missed Minnesota legislative deadline

WDC seniors receive scholarships, awards

WADENA — More than $42,000 in scholarships was awarded to Wadena-Deer Creek’s seniors at the school’s annual senior awards program May 15 in the Robertson Theatre at WDC Middle/High School.

WDC High School Principal Tyler Church served as master of ceremonies at the annual senior scholarship/awards program where members of the community presented students with their scholarship and/or award.

“I’m extremely proud of our graduates and the scholarships and awards they’ve received. It’s a reflection of the quality education these students earn here at Wadena-Deer Creek Schools,” Church said.

New scholarship opportunities awarded to students this year included: the Kent & Shaneen Schmidt Scholarship for $1,000, the Princess Warrior (Jane Fiemeyer Memorial Scholarship) for $500, and the Minnesota Deer Hunters Association Scholarship for $500.

WDC graduates continue to receive scholarships throughout the remainder of the summer. The following are the scholarships presented either prior to or at the ceremony. Principal Church said WDC is grateful to its scholarship sponsors, alumni, businesses and friends for their generous donations.

Presented at the banquet:

Arvig Communications Scholarship ($3,000) – Joseph Pate.

Army Reserve Scholars (Certificates) – Macy Hartman, Joey Price.

American Legion (Plaque) – Drew Larson.

American Legion Auxiliary (Plaque) – Macy Hartman.

Bill Burns Memorial Scholarship ($800) – Sayde Anderson.

Bluffton Lion’s Brian McGrane Scholarship ($500) – Melissa Moenkedick.

Carl & Louise Hulting Scholarship ($500) – Matthew Laughlin.

Dollars for Scholars Scholarships (varying amounts, $1,950) – Brooke Umland, Sarah Craig, Sayde Anderson, Caitlin Volkmann, Ryan Jahnke, Shane Motschenbacher, Joseph Pate.

Doris Felton Scholarship ($750 each) – Sayde Anderson, Joseph Pate, Caitlin Volkmann.

Edith Bottemiller Scholarship ($1,000) – Sayde Anderson.

Ethel Gustafson Scholarship ($750) – Katelyn Peters.

Elaine Lundeen Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Brooke Umland.

Elks Most Valuable Student (varying amounts) – Mike Paavola, Lacey Barthel, Addison Crocker.

Expressions Salon Award ($100 each) – Ryan Jahnke, Shane Motschenbacher, Joseph Pate.

Florence Claydon Scholarship ($500) – Drew Larson.

Fox/Hess Awards (Plaque) – Mike Paavola, Brooke Umland.

George Krier Memorial (Plaque) – Bridger Pettit.

Harold and Edythe Peterson Family Scholarship ($1,500 each) – Halley Maas, Mike Paavola.

Jack and Alvida Browne Family Foundation Scholarship ($500 each) – Shane Motschenbacher, Brooke Umland.

Jim Roes Student Athletes (Plaque) – Sarah Craig, Molly Kraemer, Halley Maas, Mike Paavola.

Kent & Shaneen Schmidt Scholarship ($1,000) – Halley Maas.

Leslie Helle Scholarship ($500) – Christian Berg.

Louise Pleidrup Award ($500) – Melissa Moenkedick.

M.M. Bottemiller Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – Sarah Craig.

Mason Brothers Scholarship ($1,000) – Sarah Craig.

Mid-Central Savings Bank Business Scholarship ($500) – Sarah Craig.

Minnesota Deer Hunters Association Scholarship ($500) – Melissa Moenkedick.

National Association of Theatre Owners Scholarship ($1,000) – Macy Hartman.

P.E.O. Scholarships ($500 each) – Halley Maas, Molly Kraemer.

Pepsi Scholarships ($500 each) – Macy Hartman, Joey Price

Polman Transfer Scholarship ($200) – Katelyn Peters.

Princess Warrior (Jane Fiemeyer Memorial Scholarship) ($500) – Brooke Umland.

Rex and Alma McDonald Scholarship ($500) – Macy Hartman.

Ruth and Frank Robinson Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Melissa Moenkedick.

Rosemary Harrison Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – Sayde Anderson.

Rotary Club Awards ($900 each) – Macy Hartman, Mike Paavola.

Rotary Club Award – Tech ($750) – Joey Price.

Rotary Club Nursing Award ($600) – Halley Maas.

Russ Davis Scholarships – Sayde Anderson ($1,500), Ryan Jahnke ($1,000).

Taner P. Eiswald Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Melissa Moenkedick.

Todd-Wadena Electric Cooperative Scholarship ($400) – Macy Hartman.

Tranby Special Olympics Awards (Certificates) – Trent Melby, Andrew Bendlen, Zach Burcham.

Tri-County Hospital Award ($1,000) – Halley Maas.

VFW Post 3922 Scholarship ($500 each) – Mike Paavola, Joseph Pate, Katelyn Peters.

Wadena Lions Club Scholarships ($500 each) – Macy Hartman, Halley Maas, Brooke Umland, Sayde Anderson, Joey Price.

Wadena Female Volunteer Award ($500) – Sarah Craig

WDC School Employees Scholarship ($500 each) – Christian Berg, Katelyn Peters

Wadena State Bank Scholarships ($500 each) – Ryan Jahnke, Molly Kraemer

Weyrauch Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Macy Hartman.

Wolverine Athlete of the Year Awards (Plaque) – Emily Miron, Jacob Krause.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889