Sections

Weather Forecast

Close
Advertisement

Social Security computer outage to affect HealthCare.gov

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
news Brainerd, 56401
Brainerd MN 506 James St. / PO Box 974 56401

WASHINGTON, Feb 10 (Reuters) - The Obama administration on Monday said people hoping to enroll in health coverage for March 1 may have trouble applying by Saturday's deadline because of a planned 62-hour maintenance shutdown of a Social Security Administration computer system.

Advertisement
Advertisement

The U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS), the lead Obamacare agency, said the shutdown will prevent applicants from verifying their Social Security numbers and other data through the federal website, HealthCare.gov. Those unable to enroll because of the outage can request special enrollment for coverage beginning March 1, CMS said.

The Social Security computer system will be down from 3 p.m. EST (2000 GMT) on Saturday until 5 a.m. EST (1000 GMT) on Tuesday, Feb. 18, CMS said. CMS said those who have already completed an application will still able to shop or select a plan through the website.

Advertisement
Brainerd Dispatch customer support
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889
Advertisement
Advertisement