Weather Forecast


Extra Credit-Feb. 24

The following students were named to the fall 2013 dean’s List at The College of St. Scholastica in Duluth:

Allie Carlson, Christina Collins, Christopher Hughes, Teresa Olson, Ashley Pohl and Laura Schlegel, Aitkin; Trace Mowers, Aimeejoy Balko, Rebecca Clitso-Garcia, Deborah Erickson, Gerrit Garberich, Patricia Garding, Dustin Hausken, Stefanie Jones, Julie Larson, Christopher Lister, Ryan Mareck, Amber Osborne, Carole Paschelke, Theresa Rardin, Melissa Schwendeman, Kristi Stroschein, Kimberly Svir, Nicole Szudy and Brittni Tengwall, Brainerd; Hannah Rempe and Sharon Wiltrout, Baxter; Jessica Coleman and Kelly Stark, Crosby; Natalie Ritter, Deerwood; Ann Hunnicutt and Cynthia Lindberg, Fort Ripley; Katie Seipp, Ironton; Staci Beto, Jennifer Loidolt, Melanie Ohnstad and Jessica Walscheski, Little Falls; Shelby Fuhrman, Merrifield; Krystal Hoheisel, Liza Stangl and Alissa Virnig, Pierz; Stacey Berent, Katrinah Rudrud and Gina Stelck, Pillager; and Isabel Lawrence and Sarah Ostlund, Pine River.

Kyle Vogt, Merrifield, was named to Dunwoody College of Technology’s fall semester dean’s list.

Ridgewater College, Willmar, has named the following to its fall 2013 dean’s list: Ashley Storm, Brainerd; Frank Wilczek, Fort Ripley; Janelle LeMieur Griffith and Staci Stein, Little Falls.

Iowa State University has named the following students to the 2013 fall semester dean’s list: Dexter Hopp, Baxter; Cody Platta, Brainerd; and Nathan Lehman, Nisswa.

The University of Wisconsin-Madison recognized students named to the dean’s list for the fall semester: Alexander Gross, Brainerd; Eleanor Heggerston, Crosslake; Andy Lee, Garrison; Amber Moberg and Cierra Vagle, Little Falls; and Taylor Stiller, Pequot Lakes.

Arianna Brown, Nisswa, and Erika Broschofsky, Pierz, were named to the dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

Margaret C. Kenna, Little Falls, was a student honored at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point for attaining high grade point averages during the fall semester of the 2013-2014 academic year.

Curry College’s Kylie Beltz of Pine River was named to the dean’s list for the fall 2013 semester.

Garet Bodahl, Backus, Thomas Young, Little Falls, and Dylan Nistler, Walker, were named to the fall 2013 honors list at Vermilion Community College in Ely.

St. Cloud State University senior Alex Janku of Brainerd was awarded a Philip Halenbeck Scholarship in the amount of $300 each semester for fall 2013 and spring 2014.

North Dakota State University’s fall graduation list includes: Danielle Fiebelkorn and Zachary Heidmann, Baxter; Erin Butler, Elyssa Grimsby, Allyson Patton and Kate Sims, Brainerd; Kassandra Almen and Jeremy Maslowski, Little Falls; Philip Gregory, Pequot Lakes; and Matthew Siegel, Pillager.

The following students were named to the fall semester dean’s list at Minnesota State Mankato: Emilee Struss and David Titus, Baxter; Jocelyn Brown, Justin DeChantal and Della Gramer, Brainerd; Chelsey Thorson, Breezy Point; Kristina Wiebold, Crosslake; Kari Esse, Ashley Klein and Robert Munnell, Little Falls; Mariah Anderson and Jessica Johnson, Pequot Lakes; Alyssa Boser and Sonya Theis, Pierz; Jacquelyn White, Pillager; and Natalie Stine and Christopher Zimmer, Walker.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889