Weather Forecast


Erickson named Auditor of the Year

Deborah Erickson

The Minnesota Association of County Officers named Deborah Erickson, Crow Wing County administrative services director, as the Auditor of the Year.

The award was given at the annual conference Feb. 6-10 in Bloomington.

Awards are presented annually to an outstanding auditor, treasurer and recorder of the year. Officers receiving awards are voted in by their peers.

Erickson previously served Crow Wing County as auditor and auditor-treasurer before being named administrative services director. Erickson was noted for her efforts representing Crow Wing County, as well as her service to the association as the chair of the elections committee.

"We're very proud of the work that Debby does," said Tim Houle, county administrator, in a news release. "She is a great asset to our senior leadership team. We've known for quite a while what makes Debby such a great asset for us, but this award is really special because it is an award granted by her peers. Nobody knows the work as well as peers, so when they recognize you as a leader in your profession, that really means something. It's a real honor."

The Minnesota Association of County Officers is comprised of county auditors, treasurers, recorders, financial officers and registrars in Minnesota. All 87 Minnesota counties are members.

The organization is made up of two individual associations: one comprised of auditors, treasurers and finance officers and a separate association of recorders and registrars. The two individual associations—the Minnesota Association of County Auditors, Treasurers, and Financial Officers and the Minnesota County Recorders Association—combine to make up the association.