Weather Forecast


Filings open next week in Crow Wing County

Filings open Tuesday for a variety of county, legislative and judicial offices, the Crow Wing County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office reported.

In Crow Wing County, the commissioners whose terms are up are Phil Trusty, District 1; and Doug Houge, District 5. Candidates may file at the Historic Crow Wing County Courthouse.

Candidates for the Crow Wing County Soil and Water Conservation District may also file at the Historic Crow Wing County Courthouse. Incumbents whose terms will expire are Bob Becker, District 4; Bob Albrecht, District 5; and Leonard Koering, District 1.

Candidates may file for the legislative and judicial offices at the office of the secretary of state in St. Paul. Every seat in the Legislature is up for re-election including Senate District 10, House District 10A, and House District 10B.

Two judicial seats that are based in Brainerd will be up for election in 2012. The incumbents in these seats are Judge Erik Askegaard and Judge Richard Zimmerman. Other Ninth Judicial District judges whose terms are up in 2012 are Judge Shari Schluchter and Judge John Melby, both of Bemidji.

The filing period opens at 8 a.m. Tuesday and ends at 5 p.m. June 5. Candidates may file in person or by mail. Filing offices will be closed May 28 in observance of Memorial Day.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889