Weather Forecast


Primary features interesting races


Voters in central Minnesota who go to the polls for Tuesday’s primary will have a variety of races to weigh in on, ranging from a rare DFL primary for the 8th Congressional District to three county board races in Crow Wing and Morrison counties.

This year, at least in the Brainerd area, the Democrats have cornered the market in primary races for partisan offices.

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet?

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us at and we can help you.

Mike O'Rourke
Mike O'Rourke began his career at the Brainerd Dispatch in 1978 as a general assignment reporter. He was named city editor in 1981 and associate editor in 1999. He covers politics and writes features and editorials.
(218) 855-5860