Weather Forecast


Persell named DFL majority whip

Persell appointed majority whip

Speaker-designate Paul Thissen appointed State Rep. John Persell DFL-Bemidji, to serve as House majority whip. As majority whip, Persell will assist House Majority Leader Erin Murphy, DFL-St. Paul, with coordinating legislative activity on the House floor among other duties to help lead the House majority caucus. Thissen said Persell adds a valuable perspective to the leadership team and the work needed to effectively govern.

Persell’s district (5A) includes portions of Cass County.

Along with Persell, the House DFL caucus appointed six assistant majority leaders last week. The assistant leaders represent districts throughout the state: State Rep. Jason Isaacson, DFL –Shoreview), State Rep. Leon Lillie, DFL – North Saint Paul, State Rep. Diane Loeffler, DFL – Minneapolis, State Rep. Carly Melin, DFL-Hibbing, State Rep. Kim Norton, DFL –Rochester, and State Rep. John Ward, DFL-Brainerd.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889