Sections

Weather Forecast

Close

columns

March 19, 2017
Tammy Swift, columnist
Swift: The new 'Maximum Overdrive': Could our appliances be too smart?
March 19, 2017 - 8:05am
March 18, 2017
Photograph of author Carol Bursack of Minding Our Elders by Ann Arbor Miller, annarbormiller.com. Photograph was taken on Jan. 18, 2011, in Fargo, N.D.
Minding Our Elders: Family members may feel guilty about missing the passing
March 18, 2017 - 3:01pm
The wives of the basketball staff at South Dakota State found a way to celebrate the month of March by creating an effort called "March Kindness" that is focused on random acts of kindness. Special to The Forum
Phillips: March kindness replaces some of the madness
March 18, 2017 - 9:59am
Don Kinzler, gardening columnist
Fielding Questions: What causes cucumber fruits to curl?
March 18, 2017 - 8:49am
Preen prevents many types of weed seeds from germinating in flower beds. Michael Vosburg / Forum Photo Editor
Growing Together: Better yards and gardens with less work
March 18, 2017 - 7:52am
March 16, 2017
Opinion Column: Medical care answers for America
March 16, 2017 - 10:46am
March 14, 2017
Ben Hanson, Parenting Perspectives columnist
Parenting Perspectives: When family's away, Dad will... clean, apparently
March 14, 2017 - 10:52am
March 12, 2017
Earth’s counterclockwise motion around the sun (to the left or east) causes the constellations to drift to the right (west) during the year. The effect is subtle — stars rise in the east four minutes earlier each night because of our planet’s travels — but the minutes add up, creating a complete turnover in the constellations every year. Bob King / rking@duluthnews.com
AstroBob: Welcome Arcturus!
March 12, 2017 - 6:12pm
Column: Strengthen community by insisting on government transparency
March 12, 2017 - 10:47am
March 9, 2017
Opinion Column: Preserving life, a little longer
March 9, 2017 - 2:46pm
March 8, 2017
Ron Smith, World of Wine columnist
World of Wine: Tasty white wines for you to try
March 8, 2017 - 1:39pm
Dr. Michael Fox
Dr. Fox: USDA removes animal welfare reports from website
March 8, 2017 - 11:40am
March 7, 2017
Val Kleppen, Parenting Perspectives columnist
Parenting Perspectives: The perfect parent (and it isn't me)
March 7, 2017 - 10:17am
March 5, 2017
A brilliant fireball breaks up in the atmosphere. Visible light and radio waves given off by a bright meteor may be translated by common materials into hissing sounds some hear at the sight of the event. John Chumack
AstroBob: A new take on why we hear meteors
March 5, 2017 - 3:07pm
Tammy Swift, columnist
Swift: An 'x-plan' could be an x-scape from life
March 5, 2017 - 9:43am