Weather Forecast


NORTH CENTRAL SPEEDWAY: Sabraski cashes in on Kids Night

BARROWS — Shane Sabraski is North Central Speedway’s version of “Dog The Bounty Hunter.”

Sabraski swept his three feature races that he participated in, and in the process he collected two $200 cash bounties.

Sabraski’s sweep was the highlight of Kids Night. Car owners and local businesses worked together to give away 60 bikes to racing fans.

It’s not surprising after his sweep that Sabraski is a fan of the bounty system this year.

“I think it’s a cool idea,” Sabraski said. “You have nothing to lose by it and it is a chance for a little extra money which should also bring some other guys in.”

Sabraski was in row three when the green flag dropped in the A Modified event and he worked his way into the top three on lap seven coming out of a caution. After waging a battle with Shawn Fletcher and Jeff Hart, Sabraski grabbed the lead from Hart on lap 11 and never trailed again.

Sabraski had the opportunity to claim his first bounty. Dave Read won the last two races so the target was on his back. Read had a fourth-row start and wasn’t able to challenge for the top spot.

Sabraski grabbed the lead from Ethan Sweet on lap five and then road the low groove of the track to hold onto his lead. He got a challenge from Don Eischens, who was attacking on the high side, but Sabraski held him off to get his second win.

Sabraski then claimed his second bounty in the final race of the evening. Sabraski started on row three, but gained the top spot early in the race and ran away from the field with Dan Ebert finishing second.

“All three of my cars were working great tonight and the track was beautiful,” Sabraski said. “You could race anywhere. It was a really good night for us.”

Chris Graf and Jerry Richert Jr. are the current points leaders of the Upper Midwest Sprint Car Series and showed why Saturday night in the 20-lap feature event.

Graf had the slight advantage going into the final lap. Richert Jr. had his best chance to catch Graf coming out of turn two and they were side by side at that point. The cars made some contact on turn four, but Graf held on to win by half of a car length.

Jonny Moe, Gary Ohnstad and Robert Mueller locked horns in the Pure Stock feature, but Mueller took himself out of the competition with a spin out with just four laps left. It would take a green-white-checker restart to finish the race with Moe winning.

Mark Johnson tried to take the bounty that was on Tim Johnson in the Street Stock feature. Mark led for 13 laps before Tim took over the lead going into the last lap with a pass on the low side of the track. 

“I actually didn’t think I was going to get there,” Tim Johnson said. “Midway through the race we had a caution. I found a good line and started running it.”


Feature: 1-Ashley Mehrwerth, 2-Andrew Lokenvitz, 3-Sarah Fritz


Feature: 1-Brandon Mehrwerth, 2-Derek Daudt, 3-Whitney Kropuenske


Feature: 1-Jonny Moe, 2-Gary Ohnstad Jr, 3-Lance Sprague

Heat 1: 1-Robert Mueller, 2-Tom Anderson, 3-Ryan Larson

Heat 2: 1-Pat Zerfas, 2-David Eich, 3-Chris Seidel

Heat 3: 1-Corey Hill, 2-Gary Ohnstad Jr., 3-Jonny Moe


Feature: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Mark Johnson, 3-Todd Wooden

Heat 1: 1-Mark Johnson, 2-Jack Peterson, 3-Christina Wollak

Heat 2 : 1-Tim Johnson, 2-John Kropuenske, 3-Todd Wooden


Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Dan Ebert, 3-Danny Vang

Heat 1: 1-Skyler Smith, 2-Jeff Nelson, 3-Tom Gill

Heat 2: 1-Dan Ebert, 2-Matt Weisman, 3-Mike Japp

Heat 3: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Travis Wermter, 3-Jeremy Neyens


Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Don Eischens, 3-Tim Johnson

Heat 1: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Jake Goetze, 3-Derek Sweet

Heat 2: 1-Don Eischens, 2-Tim Johnson, 3-Dave Read


Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Jeff Hat, 3-Don Eischens

Heat 1: 1-Jeff Hart, 2-Don Eischens, 3-Pete Hines

Heat 2: 1-Dan Ebert, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Jerry Esler

Heat 3: 1-Don Shaw, 2-Shawn Fletcher, 3-Erick Thiesse


Feature: 1-Chris Graf, 2-Jerry Richert Jr., 3-Scott Broty

Challenge Race 1: 1-Cody Hahn, 2-Scotty Thiel, 3-Andy Jones

Challenge Race 2: 1-Chris Graf, 2-Scott Broty, 3-Jerry Richert Jr.

Ultimate Race 1: 1-Cody Hahn, 2-Jery Richert Jr., 3-Scotty Thiel

Ultimate Race 2: 1-Scott Broty, 2-Andy Jones, 3-Ronnie Erickson