Weather Forecast


Baxter advances to championship round in tourney

Bill Johnson Baxter coach Sandy Tautges pointed Mac Brink toward second base on

BAXTER — Host Baxter advanced to the championship round of the 12-year-old Cal Ripken Midwest Plains Regional tournament Sunday with a 5-1 win over Dickinson, N.D., at Oscar Kristofferson Park.

Baxter must beat East Twins of Minnesota twice to capture the title. Game time is 11 a.m. Monday with a second game, if necessary, at 1:30 p.m.

Against Dickinson, Mitch Casper reached on an error in the second inning, and Andy Muesing walked. Jakob Ebinger's sacrifice bunt moved both runners up and Mac Brink followed with a 2-run double. 

Baxter scored two runs in the fourth on singles by Ebinger, Mac Brink, Peter Moran, and Matt Tautges.

A single by Cody Shepherd and double by Braedon Metz added an insurance run in the Baxter fifth.

Pitching for Baxter were Joey Tschida and Matt Tautges. Tschida had five strikeouts, three walks and allowed two hits. Tautges had six strikeouts, one walk, and gave up two hits. 

Leading North Dakota was Tanner Ouellette who was 1 for 2 with a double.

The Wow Award went to Mac Brink for his double.

East Twins 2 Baxter 1

Earlier Sunday, Matt Tautges drew a walk in the first inning and scored on a fielder’s choice to get Baxter started. 

East Twins got on the board in the bottom of the second with a single by Mike Koren, who scored on Noah Smith’s double. 

East Twins pushed a second run across in the third to take the lead. 

Baxter was led by Tautges, who was 1 for 2 with a double, and Mitch Andres, who was 1 for 2. 

Baxter’s pitching duo of Joey Tschida and Tautges continued to shine. Tschida had seven strikeouts and allowed five hits. Tautges had one strikeout, and gave up one hit and one walk. 

The Wow Award went to Noah Smith for his double.

Baxter 3, New Madrid, MO., 2

Baxter advanced to the semifinals with a 3-2 victory over Missouri on Saturday.

Joey Tschida and Matt Tautges continued to keep batters off balance. Tschida led Baxter with seven strikeouts and allowed only one hit. Tautges had six strikeouts and allowed two hits.

Baxter's scoring started with Peter Moran getting a base hit in the first and later scoring on a wild pitch. 

In the second inning, Andy Muesing walked and scored on a Moran base hit. 

In the third, New Madrid's Jonathon Powell reached on a Baxter error and scored on a Garrison Keene triple. New Madrid scored its second run in the fourth.

In the fifth, Tautges reached on a base hit. Mitch Andres' sacrifice bunt moved Tautges to third base. Tautges scored on a passed ball as Baxter took the lead for good. 

The Wow Award went to Tschida for his pitching.

North Dakota 7, Missouri 1

Eli Jung and Jersey Martin were both 1 for 1 and Cam Jorda tripled to lead Dickinson to a 7-1 victory over New Madrid on Sunday.

Tanner Ouellette threw a complete game with eight strikeouts, two walks and four hits.  

Palmer Campbell doubled for Missouri.

The Wow Award went to Tanner Ouellette for a complete game.

East Twins, MN, 5 Dickinson, N.D., 0

Mike Koren, Noah Smith and Jason Dick each went 1 for 2 to lead East Twins to a 5-0 win over Dickinson on Saturday.

Noah Smith pitched a complete game for East Twins, collecting eight strikeouts and allowing just four hits. 

Dickinson was led by Cam Jorda who was 2 for 2.

Dickinson, N.D., 9, Independence, KA, 5

Mike Herauf was 2 for 3, Shawn Steffan was 1 for 3 with a double, and Jack Hanstad was 3 for 3 with a double to lead Dickinson to a 9-3 win over Independence Saturday. 

On the mound, Steffan pitched five innings with eight strikeouts, five walks and five hits. Matthew Tessier pitched the final inning with two strikeouts.

Kansas was led in hitting by Zack Schroeder 2 for 3, and Noah Stroble and Jalynn Lawrie, both 1 for 2.

Levi Kamp got the Wow Award for going 2 for 2.

Missouri 15, Colorado 2

In the nightcap Saturday, Missouri defeated Colorado 15-2.

Missouri was led by Palmer Campbell with a 5 for 5 game with three doubles. 

Campbell also threw two innings, striking out two. Also on the mound for Missouri was Nicholes Allred with three strikeouts, one walk and one hit, and Chase Silman who gave up two hits and one walk. 

Colton Peluzio and Presley Pene were both 1 for 3 and Jaren Oats was 1 for 2.

The Wow Award went to Campbell for his hitting.