Weather Forecast


CROSS COUNTRY: Ryan, Prushek, C-I boys, PL girls winners

McGREGOR — Mike Ryan raced to his fourth win of the season and the Pequot Lakes girls team won the McGregor Invite on Thursday.

Ryan finished 5,000 meters in 17:31. Josh Olson in fifth place and Nathan McDonald in ninth were others in the top 10 for the Patriots, who finished behind first-place Crosby-Ironton.

“It was his personal best this year,” Pequot coach Jon Dale said of Ryan. “He’s steadily improving. That’s a tough team, C-I. They just won at Milaca. I thought Mike had a great race. Our whole team improved also. We’re closing the gap.”

Pequot Lakes won the girls race, followed by C-I. The Patriots’ Jackie Brine-Doyle was second, Caitie Ryan third, Savannah Stone fourth, Leric Larson seventh and Elsa Headlee ninth.

“Our girls it was the first time we’ve taken C-I in a while,” Dale said. “It was a nice win for our girls.”

C-I’s September Prushek ran the fastest girls time of the day, blazing through 4,000 meters in 16:35 to take first place. Samantha Goshey was fifth for the Rangers.

Jacob Goodwin was C-I’s top boys racer in second place. Seth Carlton finished third, Will Goodwin fourth, John Stokman sixth, Mitch Skjeveland seventh, Isaac Carlton 10th and Phil Stokman 11th.

T.J. Lukeman was Pine River-Backus’ top boys finisher in 12th place. Julia Ruohiniemi was eighth for the PR-B girls.

Boys team scores: 1-Crosby-Ironton 22, 2-Pequot Lakes 42, 3-Deer River 124, 4-McGregor 137, 5-Wrenshall 216, Pine River Backus inc.

Individual winner: Mike Ryan (PL)17:31

Crosby-Ironton results: 2-Jacob Goodwin 17:32. 3-Seth Carlton 17:33, 4-Will Goodwin 17:38, 6-John Stokman 18:49, 7-Mitch Skjeveland 19:12, 10-Isaac Carlton 19:30, 11-Phil Stokman 19:36, 18-Cam Larson 20:10

Pequot Lakes results: 5-Josh Olson 18:41, 9-Nathan McDonald 19:24, 13-Sam Headlee 19:29, 14-Alex Senst 19:51, 15-R.J. Maxfield 19:56, 17-Sean Murray 20:07

Pine River-Backus results: 12-T. J. Lukeman 19:44, 25-Tom Ruohoniemi 21:57, 30-Jacob Weber 22:19

Girls team scores: 1-Pequot Lakes 25, 2-Crsoby-Ironton 47, 3-Northland Deer River 65, 4-Pine River-Backus 98

Individual winner: September Prushek (C-I) 16:35 

Crosby-Ironton results: 1-September Proshek 16:35, 5-Samantha Goshey 17:07, 11-Lauren Peterson 18:02, 13-Cassidy Bonsante 18:15, 17-Chelsey Bonsante 18:49

Pequot Lakes results: 2-Jackie Brine-Doyle 16:37, 3-Caitie Ryan 15:58, 4-Savannah Stone 17:00, 7-Eric Larson 17:48, 9-Elsa Headlee 17:50, 13-Sydney Johnson 18:52, 14-Sarah Rudlang 19:06

Pine River-Backus results: 8-Julia Ruohoniemi 17:50, 19-Autumn Ackerman 19:20, 20-Kendra Brasel 19:40, 25-Tori Sechser 20:15, 26-Lydia Krecklau 20:32, 31-Kristle Peltier 21:05, 33-Jess Henneken 21:41, 34-Grace Lembert 22:52, 37-Erin Fisker 21:21

Next: Pine River-Backus at Sebeka-Menahga Invite 4 p.m. Tuesday; Crosby-Ironton, Pequot Lakes, Pine River-Backus in Roger Twigg Invitational at Ruttger’s Golf Course 3:20 p.m. Thursday.

Neururers pace Pillager

COLLEGEVILLE — Matt Neururer finished 11th to lead the Pillager Huskies boys to an eighth-place finish during the St. John’s Prep Invite Thursday.

Sarah Neururer was the top female finisher in 11th place for the Huskies.

Boys team scores: 1-Rush City 74, 2-Royalton 75, 3-Watertown-Mayer 83, 4-St. Cloud Tech 101, 5-Maple Lake 133, 6-Hinckley-Finlayson139, 7-Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted 168, 8-Pillager 174, Christ’s Household of Faith 205, St. John’s Prep 207

Individual winner: Dan Borash (Royalton) 16:45

Pillager results: 13-Matt Neururer 18:50, 30-Shane White 19:52, 34-Isaac Jacobson 19:59, 42-Josh Warren 20.16, 56-Trent Brand 24:42

Girls team scores: 1-Watertown Mayer 55, 2-Hinckley-Finlayson 100, 3- St. Cloud Tech 116, 4-Eden Valley-Watkins 120, 5-St. John’s Prep 170, 6-Rush City 176, 7-Milaca 178, 8-Howard Lake -Waverly-Winsted 209, 9-Pillager 230

Individual winner: Hannah Johnson (W-M) 15:56

Pillager results: 11-Sarah Neururer 17:40, 54-Akari Hirata 20:40, 55-Jade Rau 20:43, 58-Dawn Swarrz 21:23, 60-Kelsie Hanson 21:45

Next: Pillager, Wadena-Deer Creek in Swain Invitational at Duluth 10 a.m. Saturday.

Flyers’ Zimny wins

FERGUS FALLS — Little Falls’ Preston Zimny led all runners, finishing the 5,000-meter course in 17:02, and helped the Flyer boys to fifth place in the 12-team Fergus Falls Invitational Thursday.

Heidi Moe paced the Flyer girls, who finished fourth, in 10th place. Mattia Hendrickson finished 11th and Chelsea Rutz 13th for the Flyers.

Brandon Sterriker led the eighth-place Staples-Motley boys, coming in 27th, and Haley Christoffersen was 16th for the Cardinal girls, who took 11th.

Boys team scores: (12 teams) 1-Bemidji 52, 2-Detroit Lakes-66, 3-Alexandria 93, 4-Ottertail Central 105, 5-Little Falls 140, 8-Staples-Motley 211

Individual winner: Preston Zimny (LF) 17:02

Little Falls results: 24-Sebastian Sowada 18:19, 33-Matthew Massmann 18:38, 37-Frank Wilczek 18:48, 45-Dan Mushel 19:01, 56-Nathan Almen 19:21, 66-Adam Maleski 20:07

Staples-Motley results: 27-Brandon Sterriker 18:29, 31-Blake Miller 18:34, 44-Justin Ziegler 18:59, 50-Korey Zetah 19:10, 59-Antonio Caudillo 19:39, 60-Stephen Plopper 19:39, 71-Robin Melse 20:38

Girls team scores: (12 teams) 1-Alexandria 48, 2-Bemidji 83, 3-Park Rapids 97, 4-Little Falls 100, 5-Fergus Falls 122, 11-Staples-Motley 263

Individual winner: Jamie Piepenburg (Alex) 14:33

Little Falls results: 10-Heidi Moe 16:30, 11- Mattia Hendrickson 16:33, 13-Chelsea Rutz 16:35, 25-Laura Moe 17:07, 41-Lauren Zimny 17:45, 44-Maggie Moe 18:04

Staples-Motley results: 16-Haley Christoffersen 16:45, 55-Emma Miller 18:44, 56-Mary Sarah Suber 18:45, 67-Tayler Klimek 19:38, 69-Jennas Ziegler 19:52, 71-Janelle Jennisen 20:21

Next: Staples-Motley at Sauk Centre Invitational 4:30 p.m. Tuesday; Little Falls at Foley Invitational 4:15 p.m. Thursday.