Weather Forecast


GIRLS TENNIS: Zetah-O’Keef win section title

GRAND FORKS, N.D. — One day after helping the Staples-Motley Cardinals win the Section 8-1A team title, Maggie O’Keef and Kelsey Zeta also won the section doubles title with a 6-3, 6-4 victory in the finals of Saturday’s individual tournament.

O’Keef-Zeta def. Allie Girtz-Bonnie Baumgartner of Park Rapids in the finals to advance to the Class 1A individual state tournament Oct. 25-28 at the Reed-Sweatt Tennis Center in Minneapolis.

The S-M duo did not drop a set on their way to the title.

S-M’s Mikayla Wing rebounded from a semifinal loss to Park Rapids Christina Smith to claim third-place with a 6-2, 6-4 win over Park Rapids’ Julia Renner in the singles portion of the tournament.


Opening round: Emily Israelson (Staples-Motley) def. Riey Erickson (Crookston) 6-4, 7-6; Julia Renner (Park Rapids) def. Jaden Lindner (Pequot Lakes 6-1, 6-1; Taylor McFarlane (Roseau) def. Paige Hartman (Wadena-Deer Creek) 6-2, 6-2, Kaycee Nelson (Pequot Lakes) def. Suzanne Coleman (Perham) 6-4, 6-0; Chessa Jones (East Grand Forks) def. Macy Hartman (Wadena-Deer Creek) 6-1, 6-3, Mikayla Wing (Staples-Motley) def. Abbey Wilder (Crookston) 6-2, 6-3

Quarterfinals: Jessamy Jones (East Grand Forks) def. Israelson 6-2, 6-0 (SM); Christina Smith (Park Rapids) def. Nelson (PL) 6-0, 6-1; Wing (SM) def. C. Jones (EGF) 6-1, 6-3

Semifinals: Smith (PR) def. Wing (SM) 6-4, 6-4

Third-place: Wing (SM) def. Renner (PR) 6-2, 6-4 


Play-in: Abby Salo-Kristin Kane (New York Mills) def. Hanna Jacobson-Ashley Carlson (Wadena-Deer Creek) 6-3, 6-2; Kelli Radi-Katelyn Berggren (East Grand Forks) def. Sarah Najjar-Abby Wegscheid (Wadena-Deer Creek) 6-1, 6-1

Opening round: Brooke Wolhowe-Grace Wolhowe (Staples-Motley) def. Kylie Simmons-Caitlin Wahouske (Crookston) 6-3, 7-6; Tricia Villella-Haley Wiebolt (Pequot Lakes) def. Kueble-Horner (Perham) 6-1, 6-0, Ellie Heggerston-Nicci Hedtke (Pequot Lakes) def. Karlie Hedlund-Gracie Olson (Roseau) 7-5, 6-2, Maggie O’Keef-Kelsey Zetah (Staples-Motley) def. Radi-Berggren (East Grand Forks) 6-2, 6-1

Quarterfinals: Allie Girtz-Bonnie Baumgartner (Park Rapids) def. Wolhowe-Wolhowe (SM) 6-2, 6-2; O’Keef-Zetah (SM) def. Heggerston-Hedtke (Pequot Lakes) 6-2, 6-1; Bailey Morris-Lilli Dennison (Crookston) def. Villella-Wiebolt (Pequot Lakes) 6-2, 7-6

Semifinals: O’Keef-Zetah (SM) def. Morris-Dennison (Crookston) 6-1, 6-4

Finals: O’Keef-Zetah (SM) def. Girtz-Baumgartner (PR) 6-3, 6-4 

Next: Class 1A individual state tournament at Reed-Sweatt Tennis Center in Minneapolis Oct. 25-28.