Weather Forecast


Brainerd’s Quast, Nelsen honored

Michaela Quast and Riley Nelsen were named Most Valuable Athletes of the Brainerd Warriors girls and boys cross country teams Monday at the team banquet.

Warrior Award winners were Allison Kosobud and Gerrit Garberich.

Hardest Worker honors went to Maria West, Nelsen, Garberich and Zean Baker.

Arianna Huber and Connor Gunsbury were named Rookies of the Year.

Most Improved awards went to Sara Yeh, Jed Smith and Danny Schoonover.

Quast, Yeh and Nelsen ran to All-Central Lakes Conference honors with Kosobud, West, Lydia Herath, Abby Selisker and Garberich running to honorable mention honors.

Quast was a scholar all-conference winner.

Katie Montgomery, Anja Smith and Parker Fredrickson were junior varsity Warrior Award winners. Sony Hildebrandt and Stafford Thompson were the JV hardest workers.

Both Brainerd varsity teams were State Academic Gold award winners by having a team grade-point average of 3.75 or higher.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889