Weather Forecast


Kassulker MVP of Warrior football team

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts

sports Brainerd, 56401

Brainerd MN 506 James St. / PO Box 974 56401

Senior offensive lineman-linebacker Jake Kassulker was selected the most valuable player of the Brainerd Warriors football team at Wednesday’s season-ending banquet in the high school cafeteria.


Kassulker won a flock of awards, including All-Central Lakes Conference, All-Section 8-5A, the Sean Andrew Award, Associated Press all-state honorable mention and Brainerd Dispatch All-Area Player of the Year.

Other varsity award winners:

Grant Reuer, all-conference honorable mention

Cole Smith, all-conference, all-area honorable mention

Lee Birchem, scout player of year

Mike Davis, all-conference, all-section honorable mention

Mike Glass, all-section honorable mention

Cody Backmann, all-conference honorable mention

Jon Asprey, all-conference honorable mention

Caleb Tautges, all-conference, all-section honorable mention, all-area

Andrew Olson, all-conference honorable mention, special teams player of year

Rob Wanous, all-conference, all-section, all-area

Riley Kline, all-section honorable mention

Jimmy Giese, all-conference honorable mention

Slade Simpson, most improved junior, all-section honorable mention

Logan McAllister, all-conference, all-section, defensive player of year, AP all-state second team, all-area

Luke Boran, junior varsity player of year

Mitch McLain, all-conference, all-section, all-area honorable mention

Logan Davis, all-conference honorable mention, all-area honorable mention

Nick Welch, all-conference, all-section, all-area, most improved senior, offensive player of year

2012 captains: Luke Boran, Sam Kelash, Jon Asprey

Sophomore awards

Hog Awards: Chris Laber, Alex DeRosier, Alex Mimmack

Defensive player of year: TJ Graumann

Scout player of year: Jared Rubado

Most improved: Matt Ramerth

Special teams players of year: Beau Janousek, Logan McElfresh

Offensive player of year: Chris Pohlkamp