Weather Forecast


Area Wrestling: Pierz punches out Columbia Heights

PIERZ — The top-seeded Pierz Pioneers registered nine pins, a technical fall and two forfeit wins shutting out No. 9 Columbia Heights 81-0 in the quarterfinals of the Section 7-1A team tournament Tuesday.

Pierz’s Nathan Tomala registered an 18 second pin at 170 pounds for the quickest of the night.

Pierz, ranked 10th in Class 1A, will advance to the section semifinals Friday in Ogilvie.

Earlier in the evening, Columbia Heights eliminated No. 8 Crosby-Ironton 42-34 in an opening round match.

Caleb Voss (106), Cody Lasher (120), Joe Sura (132) and Cole Grinsteinner (285) all won with pins for the Rangers.

Columbia Heights 42, Crosby-Ironton 34

Pierz 81, Columbia Heights 0

106: Kolton Eischens (P) pinned Tri Trinh 1:59

113: Evan Woitlalla (P) by forfeit

120: Chris Ortman (P) tech. fall over Deshon Lenear 3:59

126: Brandon Sullivan (P) by forfeit

132: Brett Kapsner (P) pinned Basil Muhammad 1:49

138: Jordan Goebel (P) pinned Ibrahim Dawould 2:29

145: Alex Julich (P) pinned David Brenner 2:49

152: Brad Meyer (P) pinned Joes Aguilar 2:50

160: Trent Davis (P) maj. dec. Jared Picken 14-2

170: Nathan Tomala (P) pinned Abdul-Razak Ali :18

182: Nick Lochner (P) by forfeit

195: Dustin Waytashek (P) pinned Abbas Alwanan :25

220: Ryley Smude (P) pinned Ahmed Hassan 2:38

285: Travis Johnson (P) pinned Orlando Haney :58

Overall: Prz 24-4. Next: Pierz/C-I/Columbia Heights winner vs. No. 4 Mille Lacs/No. 5 Royalton-Upsala winner in semifinals 6 p.m. Friday, championship 8 p.m., at Ogilvie.

Aitkin 56, Patrick Henry 18

AITKIN — The No. 3 seeded Aitkin Gobblers opened the quarterfinals of the Section 7-1A tournament with a dominating 56-18 victory over No. 6 seeded Patrick Henry. The Gobblers won their first nine matches, including seven by fall.

Aitkin 56, Patrick Henry 18

106: Colton LaPlante (A) pinned Roger Moua 1:14

113: Jack Braton (A) pinned Henry Santos 1:22

120: Jerod Novak (A) dec. Cnousee Vang 9-3

126: Noah Landrus (A) tech. fall Michael Boyd 6:00

132: Ethan Croatt (A) pinned Rumen Holmequist 3:03

138: Adam Jackson (A) pinned Milih Henry 3:03

145: Shawn Philipp (A) pinned Maverick Cairl 3:48

152: Travis Bare (A) pinned Damarius Gilmer 1:24

160: Jordan Chouanard (A) pinned Joseph Haberman :55

170: Tyshel Bohwer (P) dec. Adam Bast 12-7

182: Yasir Shabazz (P) dec. Alan Bast 6-3

195: Shaheem Duhes (A) pinned Anthony Ashton 3:17

220: Kelsey Boceh (P) pinned Roy Wigton 1:43

285: Cooper Blau (A) pinned Eric Shaw 4:47

Overall: A 12-5. Next: Aitkin/Patrick Henry winner vs. No. 2 Holdingford/No. 7 Ogilvie winner in semifinals 6 p.m. Friday, championship 8 p.m., at Ogilvie.

Pelican Rapids 42, W-DC 29

NEW YORK MILLS — Tony Reurink and Issac Malone each recorded a pin, but the eighth-seeded Wadena-Deer Creek Wolverines were upset by No. 9 Pelican Rapids 42-29 in Tuesday’s Section 6-1A wrestling tournament.

The Wolverines finished the season 5-18. Pelican Rapids then lost to top-seeded New York Mills 65-7.

Pelican Rapids 42,

Wadena-Deer Creek 29

106: Trysten Godel (WDC) dec. Dan Franco 4-2

113: Dakota Pixley (PR) fall over Corey Hurtig :58

120: Jesus Romero (PR) dec. Sam Waln 5-2

126: Carlos Guitierrez (PR) dec. Devin Barthel 4-3

132: Josh Lawson (WDC) dec. Robert Mazariagos 6-3

138: Ray Elizondo (PR) wins by forfeit

145: Josh Klovstad (PR) wins by forfeit

152: Jacob Ludovissie (WDC) wins by forfeit

160: Issac Malone (WDC) fall over Alex Diaz 5:43

170: Hobet Diaz (PR) wins by forfeit

182: Barrigen Ben (PR) wins by forfeit

195: Caleb Monson (WDC) wins by forfeit

220: Tony Reurink (WDC) fall over Mohammad Carbo :59

285: Anwar Sharmake (PR) fall over Tristin Baker :31

Overall: WDC 5-18.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889