Weather Forecast


STOCK CAR RACING: Mueller drives to victory on first night of the WWE series


Sports Writer

BARROWS — Robert Mueller took advantage of a smooth track, and good timing to get a victory and take home the belt on the first night of the first WWE Memorial weekend series at North Central Speedway.

Mueller executed a pass on turn four of the 15-lap Pure Stock feature event to get past Devin Larson and into the leader’s spot. Mueller then held off the rest of the field for the last 11 laps and finished in front of David Eich and Aaron Johnson.

“It was a nice smooth track and you couldn’t ask for much more,” Mueller said. “It just worked out better for me to work the low side and that is where I stayed for most of the race.”

Rain throughout the day cast doubt on the race program going forward, but the decision was made early to go and it paid off with a track that was slick and in prime condition for passing on the top, middle, and bottom.

The conditions played into Mueller’s strategy of when to go low and attempt to gain the top spot.

“A lot of times that’s one way to get by if a guy pushes a little bit, you can get him to the inside,” Mueller said. “I figured that I was in a good spot, so I was watching to see if he pushed a little bit and it worked out in my favor.”

Larson started from the front row and was able to get to the lead over Mueller and Derek Daudt. However, Mueller had caught up to him by lap four, and Mueller took over the top spot coming out of turn four and heading down the straightaway.

The race was a bit ugly with five caution flags, but Mueller survived the last green-white-checkered restart and gained the victory.

Mueller has had a slower start to the season than he would have liked as he started the evening in sixth place behind leader Aaron Johnson.

“I have been pretty good so far. We had one mechanical issue and one bad night,” Mueller said. “But, other then that we have been really happy with where we are at. I am just hoping that we can keep the ball rolling.”

Mueller had an opportunity to earn a sweep of the belts Sunday night in the second night of the WWE series.

In other feature action, points leader Josh Abrahamson drove to victory over Tommy Sabraski in the Mod 4 feature. Abrahamson took the lead on lap three from Rob Vanmil and held him off the rest of the way.

Danny Vang earned his second win of the season in the Midwest Modified class with a great piece of driving, which included holding off a challenge from Shane Sabraski on the last two laps. Vang finished in front of Sabraski and Allen Gessell Jr. Sabraski, Vang, and Gessell Jr. sit in the top three points in a class that will be interesting as the summer goes along.

Sabraski got his first belt in his third try as he won the Super Stock feature, running comfortably in front of Tim Johnson and Max Dondelinger.

In the Modified feature, Chuck Olson grabbed the early lead in the 200lap feature before he was passed by Tim Johnson six laps in. Johnson then gave the lead back to Olson as he exited with car problems after lap nine.

Clayton Wagamon, who had been running third behind Olson and Shawn Fletcher, grabbed the lead on the restart lap after a caution on lap 14. Wagamon was running in first place when another caution flag came out with three laps left. Wagamon was advised that he would need to leave the track with a faulty back bumper. However, he persisted with his argument and was able to stay on the track and held the lead for the last three laps to claim the victory.

The series wrapped up Sunday night with another set of features to be run and belts to be given.


Feature: 1-Robert Mueller, 2-David Eich. 3-Aaron Johnson

Heat 1: 1-Robert Mueller, 2-Craig Paul, 3-Billy Devries

Heat 2: 1-Gary Ohnstad Jr., 2-Devin Larson, 3-Aaron Johnson

Heat 3: 1-Bill Nelson, 2-David Eich, 3-Derek Daudt


Feature: 1-Danny Vang, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Allen Gessell Jr.

Heat 1: 1-Allen Gessell Jr., 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Ryan Studanski

Heat 2: 1-George Sniezek, 2-Marc Miller, 3-Mitch Weiss

Heat 3: 1-Danny Vang, 2-Bob Smith, 3-Scott Vasiched


Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Tim Johnson, 3-Max Dondelinger

Heat 1: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-John Yilek, 3-Quentin Myers

Heat 2: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Don Shaw, 3-Jake Goetze

Heat 3: 1-Dexton Koch, 2-Max Dondelinger, 3-Dave Read


Feature: 1-Josh Abrahamson, 2-Rob Vanmil, 3-Tommy Sabraski

Heat 1: 1-Rob Vanmil, 2-Tommy Sabraski, 3-Josh Abrahamson


Feature: 1-Clayton Wagamon, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Shawn Fletcher

Heat 1: 1-1-Justin Jones, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Matt Weisman