Weather Forecast


STOCK CAR RACING: Ebert wins Midwest Modified feature in return to NCS

1 / 3
2 / 3
3 / 3

BARROWS — Dan Ebert returned to North Central Speedway and came away with a first-place trophy in the Midwest Modified feature event Saturday night.

Shane Sabraski was a multiple winner again and Rob Vanmil gained a victory in the Mod 4’s feature, and led the Midwest Modified feature for most of the race before giving way to Ebert.

It was all part of Brainerd Town Night, sponsored by Cub Foods.

Ebert returned after more then a month away from NCS as he obtained a goal that he had always had.

“Ever since I started racing I have always gone for track points,” he said. “This year I started the year by saying that I wasn’t going to run for track points. I’m just going to run as many tracks as I can, because I haven’t had the chance to do that.

“It’s been fun and I have bounced around and explored new things. It was fun to come back to Brainerd and then put on a great show tonight. My hats off to Rob Vanmil who ran a great race.”

One of the other benefits for Ebert and his early season racing is that he is currently in fifth place nationally in the Midwest Modified class.

Shane Sabraski led the Midwest Modified points race but had to start from the fifth row with Ebert starting from row four, and Vanmil from row two.

Vanmil gained the lead on the second lap and was able to get some separation from his closest challengers, Danny Vang and Allen Gessel Jr.

Ebert worked his way into third place on lap five, and moved into second with four laps left.

With three laps left, Ebert got underneath Vanmil and took the lead from him on turn two. Vanmil was able to get the lead back, but stayed on the high side of the track, which allowed Ebert to manage the low side and get the No. 1 spot at the finish.

Ebert was happy to get back to NCS and get reacquainted with his racing friends.

One of his buddies, Shane Sabraski, has been having a great year and kept that momentum going Saturday as he claimed wins in Super Stock and A-Modified features.

Along with having the points lead in the Midwest Modified class, Sabraski also sits in first place in the A-Modified class, and is one point behind leader Tim Johnson in the Super Stock class. Sabraski is also third nationally in the A-Modified and Super Stock classes.

Mod 4’s drivers continue to impress in their inaugural season at NCS.

Vanmil started from the fourth row alongside Josh Abrahamson. Dean Larson sat one row in front of Vanmil and Abrahamson. Larson is currently ranked No. 1 in national points, and is followed Abrahamson in second place and Vanmil in fifth. Troy Kuehl is fourth and also competed Saturday.

Vanmil got a big jump off the green flag and quickly moved into second place before taking first on the second lap. Abrahamson moved into second place on the fifth lap, and Larson took over third with three laps to go.

None of the them could catch Vanmil, however, as he led for 14 of the 15 laps in the feature and came away with the victory. Larson still leads Abrahamson by five points in the race for the track championship.

In other races, Hannah Jones won the Hornet feature, and Brandon Mehrwerth finish first in the Outlaw Hornets feature.

Bill Nelson captured first place for the Pure Stock class, and Robert Young Jr. won the Street Stock feature.

NCS Hornets

Feature: 1-Hannah Jones, 2-Dezmond Berndt, 3-Greg Kohl

NCS Outlaw Hornets

Feature: 1-Brandon Mehrwerth, 2-Drue Fletcher, 3-Jess Geesey

NCS Pure Stock

Feature: 1-Bill Nelson, 2-Robert Mueller, 3-Mike Nelson

Heat 1: 1-Tim Bergerson, 2-Bill Nelson, 3-David Eich

Heat 2: 1-Robert Mueller, 2-Gary Ohnstad Jr., 3-Gary Sack

Heat 3: 1-Aaron Johnson, 2-Mike Nelson, 3-Tim Otterness

Heat 4: 1-Billy Devries, 2-Logan Baumann, 3-Devin Larson

NCS Street Stock

Feature: 1-Robert Young Jr., 2-Scott Baron, 3-Jack Peterson

Heat 1: 1-Scott Baron, 2-Robert Young Jr., 3-Dave Read

Heat 2: 1-Doug Miller, 2-Allen Brehmer, 3-John Kropuenske

NCS Mod 4’s

Feature: 1-Rob Vanmil, 2-Josh Abrahamson, 3-Dean Larson

Heat 1: 1-Josh Abrahamson, 2-Dean Larson, 3-Tommy Bawden

Heat 2: 1-Rob Vanmil, 2-Aaron Wetterlin, 3-Matt Staab

NCS Midwest Modified

Feature: 1-Dan Ebert, 2-Allen Gessell Jr., 3-Rob Vanmil

Heat 1: 1-Dennis Czech, 2-Rob Vanmil, 3-George Sniezek

Heat 2: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Danny Vang, 3-Allen Gessell Jr.

Heat 3: 1-Dan Ebert, 2-Ashley Mehrwerth, 3-Tom Gill

NCS Super Stock

Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Tim Johnson, 3-Seth Kramer

Heat 1: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Tim Johnson, 3-Jake Goetze

Heat 2: 1-Dave Read, 2-Max Dondelinger, 3-Dan Severson

NCS Modified

Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Rick Jacobson, 3-Don Eischens

Heat 1: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Dan Ebert

Heat 2: 1-Don Eischens, 2-Bob Broking, 3-Jeff Hart