Weather Forecast


STOCK CAR RACING: Nelson makes it two in a row in Pure Stock feature

1 / 3
2 / 3
3 / 3


Sports Writer

BARROWS — Bill Nelson won his second straight feature, and Dan Ebert continued to impress on his return to North Central Speedway with two more feature wins in an action packed night Saturday.

Nelson won the Pure Stock feature for the second straight week as he ran away from points leader Robert Mueller and Billy Devries.

His recent success is the result of his running position on the track.

“I’m just really getting the car to run well between the dry slick and the tack and that is what the big thing is,” Nelson said. “You never know what the track is going to be like.”

The weather has been the key component in the changing race conditions and that was the case again Saturday night. The clay surface got slicker as the night went on and was set perfectly for fast racing with good position for passing.

However, the Pure Stock feature, the last one of the evening, was threatened by a brief shower. With light rain falling throughout the event, Nelson took the lead on the third lap, coming from a third row start.

Nelson then managed to keep the lead through two more caution flags.

“I couldn’t tell who it was back there behind me, but I was just praying and driving my line,” Nelson said. “I had a hard tire on the right rear so I was just hoping and praying for no rain. A hard tire and rain do not mix.”

Pure Stock points leader Robert Mueller kept his position as he finished in second place behind Nelson. He currently leads 13-year-old rookie driver Aaron Johnson by 18 points for the season points competition. Nelson is back in the 17th spot despite winning the last two weeks.

Ebert turned in another successful night of driving in his second week back at NCS after traveling to other tracks for the last month.

Ebert, who is third nationally in both the A-Modified and Midwest Modified Wissota class, won both feature events Saturday night. He had a fifth row start in the Midwest Modified feature and made his way into the top three on the fourth lap.

Front-runner Kevin Kraemer was working hard to hold off Ebert and had success until lap 16 when Ebert was able to get under him on the track apron and take the lead.

With the finish line in site on the white flag lap, Ebert had a bit of bad luck as his friend, rookie driver Jared Lane, spun out on the front straightaway, which brought out the caution flag. Ebert survived the green-white-checker finish, and finished in front of Danny Vang and Kraemer.

In the A-Modified event, there wasn’t much doubt that Ebert would win the feature as he took the lead on lap five and was running out front of the rest of the field by a comfortable margin. The real battle was waged for second between Shane Sabraski and Justin Jones. After continuing to trade positions in some intense racing, Sabraski finished second and Jones captured third.

In the season points chase, Sabraski holds the lead in the A-Modified and Midwest Modified classes.

Dave Read took another win in the Street Stock feature. Leader Mark Johnson spun out on his own on the fourth lap and it opened the door for Read and other challengers. Jack Peterson now leads by just three points over Read in the season points race.

The competition in the Mod 4’s class was again intense as Matt Staab led for the majority of the race. Then with just two laps remaining, he slid into the apron on turn four, which allowed Josh Abrahamson to sneak by him and gain the checkered flag.

The drivers continue to impress as Dean Larson, Abrahamson, and Rob Vanmil remain in the top five for the national points chase, and Larson holds a slim five-point lead over Abrahamson in the NCS points race.

Tim Johnson was the winner in the Super Stock feature. For the first 10 laps, Jake Goetze and Johnson battled with Goetze gaining the top spot. Johnson then pushed into first place on lap 11 and was able to get separation from the rest of the field.

Sabraski was sent to the back of the field on lap six for running into Johnson. Sabraski worked his way back for a third-place finish, and trails Johnson by just one point in the season points race.

Another driver to watch in the series is Dexton Koch, who is in the top five for rookie drivers for Wissota. Koch made a brief appearance at the beginning of the race in the top three before dropping back. He is currently sixth place in the points chase.

Robert Young Jr. won the Hornet feature and Rick Watson was the winner for the Outlaw Hornets.


Feature: 1-Roberty Young Jr., 2-Lexi Gallagher, 3-Jake Hagemann


Feature: 1-Rick Watson, 2-Brandon Mehrwerth, 3-Matt Everts


Feature: 1-Bill Nelson, 2-Robert Mueller, 3-Billy Devries

Heat 1: 1-Robert Mueller, 2-Gary Ohnstad Jr., 3-Ross Nygren

Heat 2: 1-Billy Devries, 2-Mike Nelson, 3-Clay Christopherson

Heat 3: 1-Bill Nelson, 2-David Eich, 3-Tim Otterness


Feature: 1-Dave Read, 2-John Kropuenske, 3-Allen Brehmer

Heat 1: 1-Scott Baron, 2-Robert Young, 3-Allen Brehmer

Heat 2: 1-Jack Peterson, 2-Mark Johnson, 3-Tony Yezek


Feature: 1-Dan Ebert, 2-Danny Vang, 3-Kevin Kraemer

Heat 1: 1-Danny Vang, 2-Marc Miller, 3-Kevin Kraemer

Heat 2: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Dan Ebert, 3-Clayton Caird

Heat 3: 1-Rob Vanmil, 2-Craig Larson, 3-Tom Gill


Feature: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Dave Read, 3-Shane Sabraski

Heat 1: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Dexton Koch, 3-Jake Goetze

Heat 2: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Dave Read, 3-John Yilek


Feature: 1-Josh Abrahamson, 2-Matt Staab, 3-Rob Vanmil

Heat 1: 1-Rob Vanmil, 2-Troy Kuehl, 3-Corry Vanmil

Heat 2: 1-Josh Abrahamson, 2-Dean Larson, 3-Matt Staab


Feature: 1-Dan Ebert, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Justin Jones

Heat 1: 1-Justin Jones, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Chuck Olson

Heat 2: 1-Dan Ebert, 2-Don Eischens, 3-Shawn Fletcher

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889