Weather Forecast


Warriors win Moose tournament for sixth straight year

Brainerd won two singles titles and three in doubles as the Warriors won their Moose Invitational for the sixth year in a row Saturday.

Rosemary Hunter won the No. 3 singles title and Kristina Anderson was champion at No. 4 singles.

Megan Hintz-Sara Wennerstrand won the No. 1 doubles title, Morgan Steffen-Chloe Glassman were champions at No. 2 and Ashley Fitterer-Brooke Mimmack won the title at No. 3.

Pequot Lakes’ Haley Wiebolt was champion at No. 1 singles. The Patriots’ doubles teams of Ellie Heggerston-Carly Fyle and Ellie Erholtz-Lauren Bengtson were runners-up. All the other Patriots finished third.

“I was extremely pleased with our effort as a team,” Pequot coach Monica Sergent said. “To finish that well in a tournament like this, I was just really pleased to do this well. We hope to continue to improve.

“For Haley to finish first at No. 1 singles, that was quite an accomplishment. I’m very proud of her, I’m proud of all of them.”

Team scores: 1-Brainerd 25, 2-Pequot Lakes 22, 3-(tie) Roseau and Glencoe-Silver Lake 17

Brainerd Singles

No. 1: 3rd-Caitlin Steffen 3-1

No. 2: 4th-Natalie Comeau 3-1

No. 3: 1st-Rosemary Hunter 4-0

No. 4: 1st-Kristina Anderson 4-0

Brainerd Doubles

No. 1: 1st-Megan Hintz-Sara Wennerstrand 4-0

No. 2: 1st-Morgan Steffen-Chloe Glassman 4-0

No. 3: 1st-Ashley Fitterer-Brooke Mimmack 4-0

Next: Brainerd at Rocori 4:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Pequot Lakes Singles

No. 1: 1st-Haley Wiebolt 4-0

No. 2: 3rd-Jayden Lindner 3-1

No. 3: 3rd-Alex Nelson 3-1

No. 4: 3rd-Madison Galligan 3-1

Pequot Lakes Doubles

No. 1: 2nd-Ellie Heggerston-Carly Fyle 3-1

No. 2: 2nd-Ellie Erholtz-Lauren Bengtson 3-1

No. 3: 3rd-Erika Monson-Sydney Holt 3-1

Next: Aitkin at Pequot Lakes 4:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889