Weather Forecast


Area Cross Country: Pequot boys, girls near perfect

PINE RIVER — The Pequot Lakes Patriots boys and girls narrowly missed perfect winning scores Tuesday in the Jim Machacek Classic.

A perfect score of 15 is achieved when a team claims the five top finishes. Both Pequot teams finished with 17 points.

Mike Ryan won the boys’ competition in 18:17 and was followed by Nathan McDonald in second, Reid Pierzinski in third, Karl Brine-Doyle in fifth and Connor Dale in sixth. Tony Fitzer and Dalton Engholm also finished in the top 10.

TJ Lukenan from Pine River-Backus placed fourth leading the Tigers to second place.

Leric Larson won the girls’ race and was followed by Jackie Brine-Doyle in second, Caitie Ryan in third, Savannah Stone in fourth and Abby Mumm in seventh. Also finishing in the top 10 were Vanessa Lane and Sarah Rudlang.

Autumn Ackerman finished fifth and Kendra Brasel sixth for PR-B, which came in second.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-Pequot Lakes 17, 2-Pine River-Backus 89, 3-Deer River-Northland 97

Individual winner: Mike Ryan (PL) 18:17

Pequot Lakes results: 2-Nathan McDonald 18:51, 3-Reid Pierzinski 18:53, 5-Karl Brine-Doyle 19:13, 6-Connor Dale 19:17, 7-Tony Fitzer 19:29, 9-Dalton Engholm 19:57

Pine River-Backus results: 4-TJ Lukenan 18:56, 13-Luke Downie 20:19, 22-Troy Fetter 22:07, 23-Evan Gravdahl 22:23, 26-Tyler Bestgen 22:41, 27-Josh Sechser 22:45, 28-Dallin Sonenstahl 23:08

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Pequot Lakes 17, 2-Pine River-Backus 67, Deer River-Northland inc

Individual winner: Leric Larson (PL) 16:51

Pequot Lakes results: 2-Jackie Brine-Doyle 17:21, 3-Caitie Ryan 17:51, 4-Savannah Stone 17:59, 7-Abby Mumm 18:30, 8-Vanessa Lane 19:23, 9-Sarah Rudlang 19:38

Pine River-Backus results: 5-Autumn Ackerman 18:51, 6-Kendra Brasel 19:05, 15-Jess Hanneken 20:27, Erin Fisker (10) 21:17, 22-Brooke Richards 23:27, 23-Madison Welte 23:45

Next: Pequot Lakes, Pine River-Backus at Crosby-Ironton Invite at Ruttger’s Bay Lake Lodge in Deerwood 3 p.m. Thursday.

S-M’s Zetah sixth

SAUK CENTRE — Korey Zetah cruised to a sixth-place time of 17:49 leading the Staples-Motley boys to fourth during Tuesday’s Sauk Centre Invite.

Kyle Becker led Pierz to eighth place by taking 12th with a time of 18:20.

Haley Christofferson led the Cardinal girls to a fifth-place finish by running an 11th-place time of 17:19.

Maggie Gruber was 12th for the fourth-place Pierz Pioneers girls.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-Rocori 38, 2-Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 53, 3-Royalton 120, 4-Staples-Motley 121, 5-Sauk Centre 145, 6-New London-Spicer 157, 7-Benson 185, 8-Pierz 191, 9-Community Christian 205, 10-St. Johns Prep 219

Individual winner: Ben Burgett (CC) 16:58

Pierz results: 12-Kyle Becker 18:20, 26-Will Corbett 19:10, 49-Matt Janson 20:40, 53-Daniel Tautges 20:48, 54-Elias Schommer 20:53, 63-Mitchell Czech 22:09

Staples-Motley results: 6-Korey Zetah 17:49, 7-Blake Miller 18:04, 14-Stephen Plopper 18:24, 44-Ryan Trout 20:08. 52-Andrew Nelson 20:45, 60-Kendall Yungbauer 21:36, 66-Jordan Heldman 22:58

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Roccori 37, 2-Benson 51, 3-Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 72, 4-Pierz 80, 5-Staples-Motley 110, 6-St. Johns Prep 154, 7-Sauk Centre, Royalton, Community Christian, New London-Spicer incomplete

Individual winner: Kristin Mehr (Rocori) 15:42

Pierz results: 12-Maggie Gruber 17:22, 17-Megan Hoheisel 17:53, 18-Arre Langer 17:59, 19-Emma Hoheisel 18:02, 23-Dana Hennen 18:26

Staples-Motley results: 11-Haley Christofferson 17:19, 15-Mary Sarah Sauber 17:36, 26-Taylor Yungbauer 18:35, 31-Sarah Daly 18:46. 53-Alex Miller 21:32 55-Hayley Carlson 23:00

Next: Staples-Motley at Alexandria Invite 10:30 a.m. Saturday.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889