Weather Forecast


Area Cross Country: Goowin, Stokman pace area runners at Mid-State meet

WADENA — Will Goodwin and Margaret Stokman both finished third in Thursday’s Mid-State Conference meet leading Class 1A’s ninth-ranked Crosby-Ironton boys to the team championship and the girls to third behind Detroit Lakes and Pequot Lakes.

Goodwin ran a time of 17;12 and was followed by Isaac Carlton in seventh and Jude Severson in eighth.

Stokman finished 15 seconds off the winning pace and was followed in fourth place by teammate Molly McCusker.

Caitie Ryan’s ninth-place finish paced the Pequot girls and Mike Ryan was sixth for the Patroit boys who finished sixth also.

Michael Okeson came in fourth to lead the Staples-Motley boys and Haley Christofferson led the girls.

Leading the pack for Wadena-Deer Creek were Emma Schmitz in 14th and Brody Wangsness in 36th.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-Crosby-Ironton 49, 2-Detroit Lakes 64, 3-Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 71, 4-Park Rapids 83, 5-Staples-Motley 114, 6-Pequot Lakes 130, 7-Wadena-Deer Creek 205

Individual winner: Isaac Overmyer (Park Rapids) 16:45

Crosby-Ironton results: 3-Will Goodwin 17:12, 7-Isaac Carlton 17:35, 8-Jude Severson 17:40, 13-John Stokman 18:00, 18-Gabe Smith 18:24, 27- Drue Moores 18:51, 39 Derrek French 19:36

Pequot Lakes results: 6-Mike Ryan 17:28, 23- Reid Pierzinski 18:41, 28-Nathan McDonald 18:52, 35-Karl Brine-Doyle 19:22, 38-Dalton Engholm 19:29, 40-Tony Fitzer 19:47, 41-Jacob Jacob Tschida 19:48, 42-Peter Kostecka 20:01, 47-Sam Wallace 21:44

Staples-Motley results: 4-Michael Okeson 17:20, 12-Blake Miller 17:54, 20-Stephen Plopper 18:30, 34-Ryan Trout 19:21, 44-Andrew Nelson 20:34, 46-Jordan Heldman 21:02, 49-Alejandro Prieto 23:18

Wadena-Deer Creek results: 36-Brody Wangsness 19:24, 37-Tristin Godel 19:27, 43-Joey Pate 20:04, 45-Konnor Stueve 20:48, 48-Adam Leverson 22:33

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Detroit Lakes 39, 2-Pequot Lakes 80, 3-Crosby-Ironton 86, 4-Park Rapids 88, 5-Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 101, 6-Staples-Motley 133, 7-Wadena-Deer Creek 168

Individual winner: Kenzie Ostlie (Detroit Lakes) 15:40

Crosby-Ironton results: 3-Margaret Stokman 15:55, 4-Molly McCusker 16:05, 22-Samantha Goshey 17:16, 23-Lauren Peterson 17:19, 34-Megan Moore 18:14, 39-Victoria Severson 18:47, 42 Cassidy Bonsante 18:58

Pequot Lakes results: 9-Caitie Ryan 16:37, 12-Leric Larson 16:39, 13-Jackie Brine-Doyle, 20-Savannah Stone 17:10, 26-Elsa Headlee 17:29, 33-Vanessa Lane 18:03, 36-Alyssa Young 18:23, 47-Cheyenne Syvertson 19:28, 50-Grace Lee 21:33

Staples-Motley results: 11-Haley Christoffersen 16:39, 24-Mary Sarah Sauber 17:21, 31-Alex Miller 18:01, 32-Taylor Yungbauer 18:03, 35-Sarah daly 18:21, 48-Ana Paula 20:49, 49-Hayley Carlson 20:54

Wadena-Deer Creek results: 14-Emma Schmitz 16:47, 27-Brianna Rosenthal 17:34, 40-Elizabeth Peterson 18:51, 43-Gabrielle Ross 19:01, 44-Tiffany Meeks 19:02, 45-Sydney Greenwaldt 19:02

Next: Wadena-Deer Creek at Park Rapids Invite 4:30 p.m. Monday; Crosby-Ironton at Proctor Invite 4 p.m. Tuesday; Pequot Lakes at Birch Tree Conference meet at Menahga 4 p.m. Tuesday; Staples-Motley at Cambridge-Isanti Invite Tuesday.

Pillager’s Neururer third at OTC

HENNING — Pillager’s Matt Neururer raced to a third-place time of 17:15 in the Ottertail Central Invite Thursday.

TJ Lukanen crossed the finish line in seventh place for the fourth-place Pine River-Backus Tigers.

Tianna Eng finished seventh for the Pillager girls, who placed third. Autumn Ackerman led the fourth-place Pine River-Backus girls with a 21st-place time of 19:29.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-Ottertail Central 38, 2-Fergus Falls 41, 3-UNC 82, 4-Pine River-Backus 90, 5-Pillage INC, Wheaton INC

Individual winner: Connor Danielson (FF) 16:36

Pillager results: 3-Matt Neururer 17:15, 12-Kaine Schnagl 19:10, 20-Trent Brand 20:19, 30-Dylan Kozitza 23:30

Pine River-Backus results: 7-TJ Lukanen 18:21, 14-Luke Downie 19:38, 24-Evan Gravdahl 20:58, 25-Troy Fetter 21:11, 27-Tyler Bestgen 22:12, 28-Dallin Sonenstahl 22:19, 29-Josh Sechser 22:23

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Fergus Falls 27, 2-UNC 37, 3-Pillager 80, 4-Pine River-Backus 105, 5-Ottertail Central INC, Wheaton INC

Individual winner: Paige Larson (FF) 16:32

Pillager results: 7-Tianna Eng 17:12, 15-Sarah Neururer 18:11, 18-Sonora Nolan-Rapatz 18:31, 20-Paige Leifermann 19:54, 23-Jade Rau 20:30, 38-Stella Degan 24:22

Pine River-Backus results: 21-Autumn Ackerman 19:29, 22-Kendra Brasel 19:31, 24-Jess Hannecken 20:18, 25-Erin Fisker 20:37, 26-Madison Welte 22:40, 27-Brooke Richards 22:43

Next: Pillager, Pine River-Backus in Birch Tree Conference meet at Menahga 4 p.m. Tuesday.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889