Weather Forecast


AREA CROSS COUNTRY RUNNING: Pequot's Larson, Ryan win Birch Tree titles

MENAHGA — Leric Larson and Michael Ryan from Pequot Lakes were the individual champions in the Birch Tree Conference meet Tuesday, leading the Patriots to first- and second-place finishes for the girls and boys teams, respectively.

Larson, an eighth-grader, finished the 4-kilometer race in 16:41. She was followed closely by teammates Jackie Brine-Doyle (second), Caitie Ryan (third) and Elsa Headlee (fifth). All four were named all-conference and Savannah Stone earned honorable mention for her ninth-place finish.

“The girls ran really strong,” said Pequot coach Jon Dale. “We lost to (United North Central, second today) earlier at Bagley and we seem to be making good strides at the right time so we’re hoping for a good showing in the sections.”

Joining Ryan with all-conference honors for the Pequot boys was fifth-place Reid Pierzinski. Nathan McDonald received honorable mention for his 10th-place finish.

Pillager was led by all-conference Matt Neururer’s third place and Tiana Eng’s 10th-place for honorable mention.

TJ Lukenan earned honorable mention with his ninth-place finish for the Pine River-Backus boys. Autumn Ackerman led the PR-B girls in 19th place.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-Ottertail Central 33, 2-Pequot Lakes-40, 3-United North Central 89, 4-Pine River-Backus 98, 5-Pillager 105

Individual winner: Michael Ryan (Pequot Lakes) 17:26

Pequot Lakes results: 5-Reid Pierzinski 18:31, 10-Nathan McDonald 19:18, 11-Karl Brine-Doyle 19:23, 14-Dalton Engholm 19:28, 16-Peter Kosstecka 19:40, 19-Ton Fitzer 19:54

Pillager results: 3-Matt Neururer 17:44, 21-Kaine Schnagl 20:20, 22-Trent Brand 20:40, 33-Brennen Bordwell 23:32, 34-Dylan Kozitza 24:47, 36-Anthony Jansen 31:42

Pine River-Backus results: 9-TJ Lukenan 19:06, 17-Luke Downie 19:44, 25-Zach Tulenchik 21:22, 26-Troy Fetter 21:33, 28-Evan Gravdahl 21:48, 30-Josh Sechser 22:08, 32-Tyler Bestgen 22:29

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Pequot Lakes 19, 2-United North Central 46, 3-Pillager 80, 4-Deer River-Northland 110, 5-Pie River-Backus 114

Individual winner: Leric Larson (Pequot Lakes) 16:41

Pequot Lakes results: 2-Jackie Brine-Doyle 17:02, 3-Caitie Ryan 17:07, 5-Elsa Headlee 17:16, 9-Savannah Stone 17:28, 15-Vanessa Lane 18:15

Pillager results: 10-Tiana Eng 17:34, 14-Snora Nolan-Rapatz 18:00, 16-Sarah Neururer 18:16, 22-Jade Rau 20:01, 23-Heather Joslin 20:05, 24-Paige Leifermann 20:25

Pine River-Backus results: 19-Autumn Ackerman 19:12, 21-Kendra Brasel 19:35, 25-Erin Fisker 20:51, 26-Jess Hanneken 21:12, 28-Brooke Richards 22:08, 29-Misato Marcum 22:25, 30-Laura Oates 22:26

Next: Pequot Lakes, Pillager, PR-Backus in Section 8-1A meet at Bagley Oct. 26.

Ranger boys, girls win

PROCTOR — Jude Severson finished third for the Crosby-Ironton Rangers as the C-I boys notched a victory at the Proctor Invite Tuesday.

Will Goodwin, Isaac Carlton, John Stokman and Gabe Smith all placed in the top 10 for the Rangers’ boys team.

Margaret Stokman finished third for Crosby-Ironton’s girls team, which also won. Teammate Molly McCusker finished seventh.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-Crosby-Ironton 29, 2-Proctor 45, 3-Hinckley-Finlayson 79, 4-Cook County-Two Harbors 127, 5-Marshall 133, 5-East Central 164, 7-Moose Lake-Willow River 198, 8-Esko 213, 9-South Ridge 216, 10-Carlton 220

Individual winner: Matt Welch (Proctor) 16:05.06

Crosby-Ironton results: 3-Jude Severson 17:22, 4-Will Goodwin 17:23, 5-Isaac Carlton 17:27, 7-John Stokman 17:37, 10-Gabe Smith 18:05, 14-Drue Mooers 18:28, 34-Derrik French 19:51

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Crosby-Ironton 82, 2-Esko 83, 3-Hinckley-Finlayson 83, 4-South Ridge 85, 5-Cook County-Two Harbors 115, 6-Marshall 145, 7-Moose Lake-Willow River 149, 8-Carlton 160, 9-Proctor 193

Individual winner: Breezy Schultz (Hinckley) 16:08.01

Crosby-Ironton results: 3-Margaret Stokman 16:13, 7-Molly McCusker 16:28, 17-Lauren Peterson 17:35, 21-Samantha Goshey 17:44, 34-Megan Moore 18:39, 43, Victoria Severson 19:32, 48-Cassidy Bonsante 19:54

Next: C-I in Section 7-1A meet Oct. 25 at Cloquet.

Little Falls girls win Granite Ridge meet

PRINCETON — The Little Falls girls, led by Mattia Hendrickson’s second-place finish, won the Granite Ridge Conference conference meet Tuesday with the Flyer boys finishing fifth.

Joining Hendrickson with all-conference honors were Chelsea Rutz (sixth), Laura Moe (seventh), Kendal Hendrickson (ninth), Amelia Kresha (11th) and Heidi Moe (14th). Anna McNamara (16th) received honorable mention.

All-conference honors were awarded to the top 15 finishers with honorable mention for places 16-20.

Mathew Massmann (12th) and Cameron Smith (14th) were all-conference for the Flyer boys and Tyler Moore (17th) received honorable mention.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-St. Cloud Cathedral 24, 2-Princeton 94, 3-Albany 99, 4-Mora 103, 5-Little Falls 110, 6-Foley 119, 7-Becker 165, 8-Zimmerman 224, 9-Milaca 276

Individual winner: Charlie Lawrence (Foley) 15:57.55

Little Falls results: 12-Mathew Massmann 17:38.34, 14-Cameron Smith 17:47.74, 17-Tyler Moore 17:55.38, 32-John Brezinka 18:33.112, 35-Dan Mushel 18:46.21, 36-Brian McNamara 18:46.47, 41-Jacob Massmann 19:14.02

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Little Falls 35, 2-St. Cloud Cathedral 80, 3-Princeton-90, 4-Albany 115, 5-Milaca 120, 6-Mora 154, 7-Zimmerman 169, 8-Becker 171, 9-Foley 250

Individual winner: Rachel Eickhoff (St. Cloud Cathedral) 15:28.14

Little Falls results: 2-Mattia Hendrickson 15:38.30, 6-Chelsea Rutz 16:27.46, 7-Laura Moe 16:28.08, 9-Kendal Hendrickson 16:33.39, 11-Amelia Kresha 16:38.90, 14-Heidi Moe 16:45.59, 16-Anna McNamara 16:51.02

Next: Little Falls in Section 8-2A meet 3:30 p.m. Oct. 25 at Bemidji.

Kyle Becker all-conference for Pierz boys

PIERZ — Kyle Becker came in ninth and made the All-Central Minnesota Conference first team for Pierz as the Pioneer boys finished sixth in a CMC meet Tuesday.

Megan Hoheisel, Maggie Gruber and Arre Langer made the all-conference second team for the Pierz girls, who finished third.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted 59, 2-Holdingford 62, 3-Maple Lake 78, 4-Royalton 83, 5-Rockford 85, 6-Pierz 155, 7-St. Johns Prep 166, 8-Eden Valley-Watkins-Kimball 224

Individual winner: Connor Schank (Howard Lake) 17:00.10

Pierz results: 9-Kyle Becker 17:55.90, 22-Will Corbett 18:58.10, 37-Matt Janson 20:30.40, 43-Elias Schomer 21;12.30, 44-Daniel Tautges 21:18.10, 48-Mitchell Czech 22:43.80

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Maple Lake 33, 2-Holdingford 35, 3-Pierz 78, 4-Eden Valley-Watkins-Kimball 78, 5-St. Johns Prep 140, 6-Royalton 179, 7-Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted 186

Individual winner: Jo Merten (Holdingford) 15:59.80

Pierz results: 11-Megan Hoheisel 17:36.90, 12-Maggie Gruber 17:37.70, 14-Arre Langer 17:43.80, 17-Emma Hoheisel 18:00.90, 24-Dana Hennen 18:50.60, 29-Lillian Guck 19:03.70, 49-Beth Broschofsky 29:02.70

Next: Section 5-1A meet at Pierz Oct. 25.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889