Weather Forecast


Area Wrestling: Gobblers advance past C-I

AITKIN — Tyler Bare’s 46-second pin was the quickest of the night and helped the third-seeded Aitkin Gobblers over No. 6 Crosby-Ironton 63-17 during Tuesday’s Section 7-1A quarterfinals.

Jack Braton and Jarod Novak also recorded pins for Aitkin.

Cole Grinsteinner, Caleb Voss and Brett Nelson won for C-I.

Aitkin 63, Crosby-Ironton 17

106: Tyler Bare (A) pinned Caleb Kreitter :46

113: Caleb Voss (CI) pinned Kenny Hesse 2:27

120: Jack Braton (A) pinned Derik Olander 5:55

126: Brett Nelson (CI) pinned Caleb Curtiss 1:27

132: Noah Landrus (A) dec. Cody Lasher 13-6

138: Ethan Croatt (A) by forfeit

145: Bryan Wold (A) by forfeit

152: Jarod Novak (A) pinned Derrick Brown 4:35

160: Chris Jackson (A) by forfeit

170: Isaac Novak (A) by forfeit

182: Kyle Lind (A) by forfeit

195: Alan Bast (A) by forfeit

220: Roy Wigton (A) by forfeit

285: Cole Grinsteinner (CI) pinned Jordan Fisk 2:46

Overall: A 12-6, CI 4-10. Next: Aitkin vs. Pierz in Section 7-1A semifinals at Minneapolis Patrick Henry 6 p.m. Friday.

Pierz 77, Washington Tech 6

PIERZ — Travis Johnson’s 22-second pin was the fastest of Pierz’s 10 pins as the second-seeded Pioneers dominated No. 7 Washington Tech Magnet 77-6 in Tuesday’s Section 7-1A team quarterfinals.

Pierz 77, Washington T-M 6

106: Brandon Ortman (P) pinned V Moua 5:37

113: Andrew Tomala (P) pinned Moo Eh Moo 1:38

120: Brandon Sullivan (P) pinned Boon Yang 3:59

126: Chris Ortman (P) pinned Luis Balderrama 1:12

132: Evan Woitalla (P) pinned Heron Lopez Jr 6:00

138: Brett Kasper (P) pinned Doh Doh Htoo 3:12

145: Jordan Goebel (P) by forfeit

152: Brad Meyer (P) pinned Christian Patten 1:09

160: Josh Lanners (P) by forfeit

170: Nick Lochner (P) pinned Ben Sagbo :57

182: Moo Deh (WTM) pinned Ted Denler 1:21

195: Travis Johnson (P) pinned Wai Paw Po :22

220: Ryley Smude (P) pinned Htee Thaw 1:58

285: Curtis Brisk (P) by forfeit

Overall: Prz 25-3. Next: Pierz vs. Aitkin in Setion 7-1A semifinals at Minneapolis Patrick Henry 6 p.m. Friday.

Breckenridge 45,

Wadena-Deer Creek 36

BARNESVILLE — Carter Wright earned a pin in 1:26 for No. 9 Wadena-Deer Creek in Tuesday’s 45-36 Section 6-1A team tournament loss to No. 8 Breckenridge.

Breckenridge 45, Wadena-Deer Creek 36

106: Carter Wright (W) pinned Mason Meyer 1:26

113: Corie Hurtig (W) wins by forfeit

120: Conrad Kondos (B) dec. Tristin Godel 5-2

126: Sam Waln (W) wins by forfeit

132: Blaine Snyder (W) wins by forfeit

138: Tyler Wheeler (W) wins by forfeit

145: Josh Stuehrenberg (B) pinned Josh Lawson 3:54

152: Treyton Hought (B) pinned Austin Koljonen 1:09

160: Josh Peterson (B) wins by forfeit

170: Michael Whitney (B) pinned Isaac Malone 1:45

182: Andy Sanchez (B) wins by forfeit

195: Derek Nordick (B) pinned Branson Monson 1:53

220: Caleb Monson (W) pinned Zack Hassa 1:57

285: Cody Clift (B) pinned Tristian Baker 3:31

Overall: WDC 7-16.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889