Weather Forecast


Section 8-2A Wrestling: Road Crew upset in semis

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts

sports Brainerd, 56401

Brainerd MN 506 James St. / PO Box 974 56401

THIEF RIVER FALLS — Brandon Mager and Drey Loge each won by pins for the No. 2 seeded Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crew as they fell to the third-seeded Detroit Lakes Lakers 33-22 in Saturday’s semifinals of the Section 8-2A team tournament.


The Road Crew dominated East Grand Forks 69-9 for a quarterfinal victory to set up the semifinal showdown with Detroit Lakes.

Top-seeded Perham won the section with a 36-26 win over Detroit Lakes.

In the opening round 11th-seeded Staples-Motley was eliminated by sixth-seeded Fergus Falls 48-26.

Winning by pin for the Cardinals were Tyler Pogreba and Austin Bendson.

Detroit Lakes 33, PL/PRB 22

106: Anthony Phillipson (PL) maj. dec. Tyler Bellefeuille 12-4

113: Brandon Mager (PL) pinned Payton Jackson 1:46

120: Luke Payne (DL) pinned Nate Adkins 7-5

126: Triston Rubner (PL) dec. Logan Twigg 10-5

132: Nathan Francis (DL) dec. Nick Gravdahl 8-2

138: Zach Baker (DL) maj. dec. Jace Loge 14-6

145: Jackson Parker (DL) tech. fall Trevor Johnson 20-3

152: Drey Loge (PL) pinned Cole Hegg :35

160: Jarret Nosal (DL) dec. Osmund Miller 3-1

170: Brandon Dahring (DL) dec. Kyle Jordan 10-8

182: Jeff Gailfus (DL) dec. Justin Mackenthun 5-4

195: Jason Greigo (DL) pinned Cadel Roeder 3:12

220: Cameron Fitz (DL) dec. Kurt Kent 4-0

285: Jared Adkins (PL) dec. James Huewe 3-2

Overall: PL/PRB 15-4.

Fergus Falls 48, Staples-Motley 26

106: Spencer Sikkink (FF) dec. Eric Lisson 5-3

113: Abbor Aho (FF) pinned Alex Erpenlding 2:49

120: Tyler Giza (FF) wins by forfeit

126: Ben Schindler (FF) dec. Jacob Swendsrud 7-0

132: Blake Miller (SM) pinned Nathan Onstad 1:39

138: Josh Becker (SM) tech. fall Joe Wedll 15-0

145: Tyler Pogreba (SM) pinned JAKE Antrim 2:59

152: Austin Bendson (SM) pinned Justin Buss 3:32

160: Dane Ringquist (FF) pinned Josh Robben 1:25

170: Jordan Heldman (SM) dec. Walker Heinen

182: Gus Makovsky (FF) pinned Drew Peterson 3:25

195: Abram Aho (FF) wins by forfeit

220: Tommy Weaver (FF) pinned Jake Warren 2:45

285: Andrew Tysdal (FF) wins by forfeit

Overall: SM 4-14.