Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Flyers topped by top-seeded Moorhead

LITTLE FALLS —Josh Beak, Connor Scherping and Conor Swanson each scored pins for the No. 2 seeded Little Falls Flyers, who were denied a trip to the Class 3A state tournament by top-seeded Moorhead 37-28 in the Section 8-3A championship Saturday.

The Flyers eliminated Bemidji in the semifinals 58-12 and discarded St. Cloud Apollo 46-27 heading to the final.

The third-seeded Brainerd Warriors were upset in the quarterfinals by No. 6 Bemidji, a team the Warriors beat Feb. 5.

Jeff Flickinger, Levi Rubin and Kory Anderson each notched pins for the Warriors, who finished the season 10-6.

The Section 8-3A individual tournament is Friday-Saturday at Brainerd High School.

Team scores

Final round

Moorhead 37, Little Falls 28


Little Falls 58, Bemidji 12

Moorhead 41, Alexandria 24

Quarterfinal round

Bemidji 39, Brainerd 24

Alexandria 40, Sartell 27

Little Falls 46, St. Cloud Apollo 27

Moorhead 52, Sauk Rapids 20


Sauk Rapids 37, St. Could Tech 32

Final round

Moorhead 37, Little Falls 28

106: Grant Brendemuhl (M) dec. Logan Kapphahn 6-4

113: Ethan Talakson (M) pinned A.J. Jenks 5:09

120: Josh Beack (LF) pinned Matt Sollid 2:40

126: Justin Jenks (LF) dec. Jacob Positas 10-6

132: Kenny Mark (M) dec. Dan Mushel 4-2

138: Axel Lange (LF) maj. dec. RJ Olson 13-5

145: Connor Scherping (LF) pinned Joseph Grove :54

152: Jordan Petrone (LF) dec.Ben Herbst 6-5

160: Samual Grove (M) tech. fall over Keith Yorek

170: Joe Carpenter (M) maj. dec. Tyler Gastecki 14-2

182: A.J Wheeler (M) maj. dec. Joe Reis 15-7

195: Chase Morlock (M) pinned Gage Biechinger :22

220: Tom Wyrhor (M) pinned Trystan Ross 5:34

285: Conor Swanson (LF) pinned Brady Jerome 1:59

Final: LF 24-7.

Quarterfinal round

Bemidji 39, Brainerd 24

106:Tyler O’Beirne (Bem) pinned Bryton Mutz 3:09

113: Brian Maas (Bem) pinned Andy Schlosser 1:15

120: Adrian Azure (Bem) pinned Drew Bruen 2:42

126: Dylan Sauceda (Bem) dec. Jake Zelmske 2-0

132: Dan Babineau (Brd) dec. Craig Maas 5-3

138: Tommy Schlosser (Brd) dec. Robert Treuer 2-1

145: Gannon Strait (Bem) dec. Dilon Solid 9-4

152: Alex O’Neal (Bem) dec. Isaiah Stewart 8-1

160: Jeff Flickinger (Brd) pinned Larimee Martell 4:23

170: Kabe Johnson (Bem) pinned Jace Engelmann :54

182: Levi Rubin (Brd) pinned Jacob Smith :15

195: Josh Dreyer (Bem) dec. Chris Laber 8-5

220: Kory Anderson (Brd) pinned Wyatt Yoemanns 3:57

285: Alex Johnson (Bem) dec. Jamies Weiss 1-0

Final record: Brd 10-6.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889