Weather Forecast


BHS yearbook adviser on paid leave

Section 8-2A Wrestling: Three Road Crew advance

PERHAM — Anthony Phillipson, Justin Mackenthun and Jared Adkins of the Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crew advanced to the championship match of their respective weight classes during the Section 8-2A individual tournament Friday.

Phillipson, the top-seeded 106 pounder, will face Antonio Ortiz of Sauk Centre/Melrose.

Justin Mackenthun will battle William Parks of Perham for the 182-pound title.

Jared Adkins will wrestle Detroit Lakes’ James Huwe for the 285-pound title.

106: Championship match: Anthony Phillipson (Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus) vs. Antonio Ortiz (Sauk Centre/Melrose)

120: Consolation bracket: Spencer Richards (PL/PRB) vs. TBD

126: Consolation bracket: Brandon Mager vs. Kolten Kuhlmann (Sauk Centre/Melrose)

132: Consolation bracket: Nate Adkins (PL/PRB) vs. Eddie Bushaw (East Grand Forks)

138: Consolation bracket: Triston Rubner (PL/PRB) vs. TBD

145: Consolation bracket: Dillon Nichols (PL/PRB) vs. TBD

152: Consolation bracket: Jace Loge (PL/PRB) vs. TBD

160: Consolation bracket: Nick Gravdahl (PL/PRB) vs. TBD

170: Consolation bracket: Ozzy Miller (PL/PRB) vs. TBD

182: Championship match: Justin Mackenthun (PL/PRB) vs. William Parks (Perham)

195: Consolation bracket: Chris Foster (PL/PRB) vs. Colton Milner (Roseau)

285: Championship match: Jared Adkins (PL/PRB) vs. James Huwe (Detroit Lakes)

Next: Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus in 8-2A tournament at Perham 11 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 22.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889