Weather Forecast


Baseball: Baxter 10-U team wins state championship

BAXTER — The Baxter 10-U traveling baseball team won the Cal Ripken state championship Sunday with a 6-4 win over Bemidji at Oscar Kristofferson Park.

Baxter opened the tournament with a 10-0 win over Osseo-Maple Grove on Friday, then defeated Bemidji later that afternoon 10-8.

On Saturday, Baxter defeated Waite Park 4-3 which advanced Baxter to the championship game.

Team members for Baxter are Alex Jones, Turner Person, Eric Pohlkamp, Erik Stoxen, Max Roby, Cole Mackcow, Cayden Kleffman, Matthew Karlson, Mitchell Degen, Riley Derosier, Nathaniel Staehling, Carter Springer, and Michael Munsch.

The team is coached by Joe Pohlkamp, Steve Stoxen, and Greg Springer.

By winning the state tournament, Baxter will travel to Chadron, Neb., where it will play in the Midwest Plains Regional Tournament on July 25-29. The regional will be a 9-team double-elimination tournament with the winner advancing to the 10-U Cal Ripken World Series which will be played at Winchester, Va., Aug. 9-16.