Weather Forecast


RACING: Ebert captures championship

Brothers Howard (17K) and John Kropuenske (16) of Motley battled it out Saturday

The regular season came to an end at North Central Speedway Saturday night with season points championship trophies being awarded.

Shane Sabraski also made his return and let people know that he is serious as he swept the three events he entered.

Sabraski was suspended at the beginning of the month for having an engine part that didn’t meet Wissota regulations. The violation erased his season point total, but he not only won the A-Modified, Midwest Modified, and Super Stock Saturday, he did it by starting midway in the field in each feature.

 The other two feature winners in the Wissota class series also came from the middle of the field to win. Tim Johnson earned the victory in the Street Stock and Mike Smude won the Pure Stock feature.

Aaron Johnson and Matt Everts won the Hornet features, and neither one had a start from the front row.

The season points championship trophies were also awarded. Going into the evening, only two classes were in doubt. One was the Pure Stock class where Jonny Moe won the trophy by finishing 10 points ahead of Gary Ohnstad Jr. 

Derek Daudt and Brandon Mehrwerth still had a battle going for the points trophy in the Hornet class, but Daudt pulled away with a 39-point margin.

Derek Brenny capped off his first year in the Outlaw Hornet class with a championship trophy.

“I feel pretty good about it,” Brenny said. “I want to thank my dad, Alphonse for buying me the car, and my family for all their support.”

Tim Johnson took home his second straight season points trophy with a convincing winning margin of 68 points over Mark Johnson.

Dan Ebert finished off another successful season at NCS with points championships in the both the A-Modified and Midwest Modified classes. He was a two-time champion in the Midwest Modified class and also has a Pure Stock trophy in his case.

“It was a good year and it was definitely hard fought,” Ebert said. “It made it easier without Shane (Sabraski) not being there.”

The two will be in the field again at the Mighty Axe Nationals next weekend competing against each other again, and all the way up to the Wissota 100 later in the year in South Dakota.

“I’m just basically going to play it weekend by weekend right up to the end,” Ebert said of his plans for the rest of the season. “Two years ago, I won the race of champions in the Midwest Modified class and this year I have qualified for both the A-Modified and Midwest Modified race.”

The Super Stock season points trophy went to Dave Read, a first-time winner in that class, but a 2006 Street Stock champion. 

“It’s been Don Eischens, Shane Sabraski, Tim Johnson and myself all year at the top,” Read said. “I have three feature wins this year, but whomever gets out front, as long as you can finish in the top four that’s a good night.  My goal was to have zero DNF’s (did not finish) this year, and I only had two.”

Read said a new car gave him the confidence he needed heading into 2011.

“It was this winter with our new affordable chassis,” Read said. “We built it from the ground up. Matt and Nick Garding and my dad Tom, those guys have helped me all year.

“Also, Dan Yaunick, who used to be a great driver. He really coached me on the driving. We were checking to make sure that it was perfect and we had that confidence. It was also my fifth year of driving the car and I am becoming more comfortable, and everything is slowing down

“Trevor Hillman, Brad Jensen, Dan Ellar, Ryan Albertson, David Otto, and Chris and Alisha from American Steel also have been a huge part of my success and I want to thank them.” 

Read has also qualified for the race of champions at the Wissota 100 and will be competing there in September.

NCS Hornets

Feature: 1-Aaron Johnson, 2-Derek Daudt, 3-Drue Fletcher

NCS Outlaw Hornets

Feature:1-Matt Everts, 2-Keith Thell, 3-Ashley Mehrwerth

Pure Stock

Feature: 1-Mike Smude, Tom Anderson, 3-Pat Zerfas

B Feature: 1-Paul Marohn, 2-Logan Baumann, 3-Buck Smude

Heat 1: 1-Tom Anderson, 2-Robert Mueller, 3-Corey Larson

Heat 2: 1-Mark Olson, 2-Lance Sprague, 3-Pat Zerfas

Heat 3: 1-Mike Smude, 2-Jonny Moe, 3-Richard Nelson

Heat 4: 1-Aaron Fenstermaker, 2-Gary Sack, 3-David Dosh

Street Stock

Feature: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Dan Severson, 3-Tony Yezek

Heat 1: 1-Todd Wooden, 2-Jack Peterson, 3-Dan Severson

Heat 2: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-John Yilek, 3-Scott Baron

Midwest Modified

Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Scott Atkinson, 3-Dan Severson

Heat 1: 1-Dan Ebert, 2-Ryan Studanski, 3-Matt Weisman

Heat 2: 1-Travis Wermter, 2-Dan Severson, 3-Mike Japp

Heat 3: 1-Danny Vang, 2-Scott Atkinson, 3-George Sniezek

Super Stock

Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Dave Read, 3-Tim Johnson

Heat 1: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Dave Read, 3-Tim Johnson

Heat 2: 1-Don Eischens, 2-Ethan Sweet, 3-Jake Goetze

A Modified

Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Don Shaw, 3-Dan Ebert 

Heat 1: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2- Dan Ebert, 3-Don Shaw

Heat 2: 1-Don Eischens, 2-Nick Lavato, 3-Jerry Esler