Area Cross-Country: Anderson’s section title leads S-M boys to team title

Emmet Anderson

LONG PRAIRIE — Emmet Anderson won the Section 6-1A individual title with a time of 15:51.1 as the Staples-Motley Cardinals claimed the section championship Tuesday, Oct. 13.

Pierz finished 22nd as a team with Pillager just behind them in 24th.

S-M’s Issiah Tabatta was fifth in 16:59.4 and Lyle Brownell ninth in 17;32.

Gunter Dodge was 84th for the top Pioneer runner in 20:16 and Jacob Hooge of Pillager was 134th in 21:39.2.


Boys results
Team scores: 1-Staples-Motley 38, 2-West Central 40, 3-New London-Spicer 132, 4-Litchfield 209, 5-Holdingford 226, 22-Pierz 635, 24-Pillager
Individual winner: Emmet Anderson (SM) 15:51.1
Pillager results: 134-Jacob Hooge 21:39.2, 149-Gunnar Casuse 22:39.1, 156-Gabe Grimsley 23:43.4, 158-Micah Moyer 24:08.5, 160-Brenden Brichacek 25:10.1, 163-Jayde Jordahl 26:18.6
Pierz results: 84-Gunter Dodge 20:16, 124-Hayden Dodge 21:21, 132-Guy Clemons-Virnig 21:36.9, 142-Landon Schomer 22:08.2, 153-Tyler Foss 22:55.1, 155-Nathan Tax 23:39.7, 157-Caleb Kuske 23:56.4
Staples-Motley results: 5-Issiah Tabatt 16:59.4, 9-Lyle Brownell 17:32, 10-Logan Robben 17:33.3, 13-Luke Brownell 18:00.3, 18-Tanner Robben 18:15.7, 19-Grant Johnson 18:22.4

Pequot Lakes boys win section title

CLOQUET — Ethan Johnson finished fourth overall with a time of 17:02.9 as the Pequot Lakes boys claimed the Section 7-1A championship Tuesday, Oct. 13.

Jesse Clausen also cracked the top 10 with a seventh place finish in 17:30.5.

Jacob Schnoor of Pine River Backus was 52nd in 19:16.2 and the top finisher for Crosby-Ironton was Joe Ringhand in 19:41.5.


Boys results
Team scores: 1-Pequot Lakes 67, 2-GNK 71, 3-Virginia 92, 4-Ely 109, 5-North Shore 170, 13-Pine River-Backus 365, 21-Crosby-Ironton 499
Individual winner: Geno Uhrbom (GNK) 15:58.7
Pequot Lakes results: 4-Ethan Johnson 17:02.9, 7-Jesse Clausen 17:30.5, 15-Dawsin Ackerman 17:54.5, 18-Collin Yahn 17:59.1, 23-Charlie Schiessl 18:24.4, 30-Isaak Geroy 18:33.4
Crosby-Ironton results: 66-Joe Ringhand , 104-David Ringhand 21:12.2, 107-Max Erickson 21:21.6, 109-AJ Westin 21:33.8, 113-Michael Anderson 21:42.1, 131-Aiden Reisz 22:38.4
Pine River-Backus results: 52-Jacob Schnoor 19:16.2, 54-Nathan Nations 19:18.4, 81-Andrew Bueckers 20:16.2, 87-Corbin Knapp 20:32.5, 91-Isaiah Aulie 20:44.5, 95-Marcus Lukanen 20:47.3, 122-Robert Bueckers 22:05.4,

Wadena-Deer Creek finishes 15th in sections

BAGLEY — Bjorn Brunsberg led Wadena-Deer Creek with a 26th place finish in 18:42.2 at the Section 8-1A meet Tuesday, Oct. 13

Perham claimed the top spot as a team and the Wolverines finished 15th.

Lane Hoefs was in 33rd place in 18:59.6.

Boys results
Team scores: 1-Perham 50, 2-East Grand Forks 87, 3-Park Rapids Area 136, 4-Nevis 137, 5-Frazee 159, 15-Wadena-Deer Creek 321
Individual winner: Tyson Mahar (EGF) 16:26.9
Wadena-Deer Creek results: 26-Bjorn Brunsberg 18:42.2, 33-Lane Hoefs 18:59.6, 78-Phillip Ross 20:25.5, 91-Simon Snyder 20:45.5, 101-Eric Malone 21:08.3, 117-Grant Nelson 22:10.8, 121-Trevin Kern 23:13,
What To Read Next
Get Local