Brad Elliott Schlossman

Schlossman began at the Grand Forks Herald as an intern in the summer of 2003. After a brief stint in the news department, he began covering college hockey in 2005 following the retirement of Hall of Fame journalist Virg Foss.

Foss and Schlossman are the only two hockey beat writers at the Herald since 1969.

Schlossman has covered UND far and wide, traveling to 20 different states and two Canadian provinces to cover games. During the 2010s, he covered every UND hockey game. His consecutive game streak surpassed 500 in October 2021.

Schlossman has covered 10 NCAA Frozen Fours for the Herald, including UND's eighth NCAA national title in Tampa in 2016.

During the coronavirus pandemic in December 2020, he was one of three writers who covered the National Collegiate Hockey Conference Pod, which was played behind closed doors to the public in Omaha.

His work has been recognized by the Associated Press Sports Editors, winning first place in beat writing four times. He also was named the state's sportswriter of the year once.

Schlossman resides in Grand Forks.

Reach him at

The former UND alternate captain scored for the Nashville Predators on Saturday night.
Fenton said the league operated in a surplus financially despite the challenges of COVID-19 last season.
The Eighth Circuit’s decision sends the case back to the North Dakota District Court for further review.
The Vikings' athletic director is Josh Morton, a UND graduate and former associate athletic director in Grand Forks.
The twin sisters from Grand Forks are North Dakota's only born-and-raised Olympic gold medalists.
Forward becomes UND's 104th NHL player.
Mitchell Miller is no longer a part of UND's hockey team.
St. Paul will get the Frozen Four in 2024
UND and Ralph Engelstad Arena officials have been engaging with business leaders in the city to learn what types of support they could offer such an event.
GRAND FORKS — Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association recently cast their votes for the Calder Trophy, which goes to the NHL's top rookie.