Weather Forecast


Minnesota Wheat Council seeks area board of directors candidates

The Minnesota Wheat Research and Promotion Council is seeking candidates for three positions on its board of directors.

Members of the Minnesota Wheat Research and Promotion Council are elected to direct Minnesota wheat checkoff dollars to benefit wheat producers.

Board members must be wheat producers willing to serve as leaders and advocates for the Minnesota wheat industry and to work to improve industry profitability and viability. To be considered, a person must have shared in the profits and risk of loss from producing wheat during the current or preceding marketing year.

Directors are elected to serve three-year terms and the board meets about six times throughout the year.

Area 2, which covers central Minnesota, has one representative position open on the board. Area 2 includes the counties of Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Traverse, Wilkin, Aitkin, Becker, Carlton, Cass, Clay, Cook, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kanabec, Lake, Mahnomen, Morrison, Norman, Pine, St. Louis, Todd and Wadena.

Those interested can call Minnesota Wheat Council Office 800-242-6118 ext. 3, for a candidate form.

Council elections will take place at multiple polling locations throughout Minnesota. These locations will be in conjunction with the Small Grains Update meetings the week of Jan. 15-18 and Jan. 28. Alternatively, eligible producers can request an absentee ballot by Dec. 11. Request a ballot by calling the MWRPC office or by emailing Ruth White, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, at Absentee ballots need to be returned with a postmark of Dec. 26, 2018.