Cross-Country: Warriors run to 2 runner-up finishes

Delayed one day, the Rey Zimney Pierz Stampede featured four area cross-country teams.

Madelyn Miller crosses the finish line at the Rey Zimney Pierz Stampede Tuesday, Sept. 21, 2021, at the Pierz Golf Course Photo Courtesy of / John Millea

PIERZ — Thomas Ruhl posted a second-place 17:02.3 to lead the Brainerd Warriors boys to second place in the Rey Zimney Pierz Stampede Tuesday, Sept. 21.

Ruhl was followed by Adam Cady in ninth, Braden Capelle in 16th, Michael Kuehn in 18th and Bennet Capelle in 22nd for the Warriors 64 team points, which trailed only Northwest, which won the boys’ event with 35 team points.

The Little Falls Flyers, led by Wyatt Baum’s sixth-place finish, placed fifth. Pierz placed 10th with Ethan Kowalczyk’s 15th-place finish leading the way.

The Brainerd girls also placed second as Hannah Drietz posted a fourth-place 19:56.4. Madelyn Miller placed ninth followed by Brooke Wenz 22nd, Julia Rademacher 24th and Liliana Schaeffer 25th. Brainerd scored a 76 with St. Cloud Cathedral winning the event with 37 team points.

Pierz finished sixth. Chloe Lochner’s 20th-place time of 21:17.9 was the top Pioneer. Little Falls finished eighth led by Ayla Anez, who scored a seventh-place time of 20:14.6.


Crosby-Ironton rounded out the area teams as the Rangers finished 15th.

Boys results
Team scores: 1-Northwest 35, 2-Brainerd 64, 3-St. Cloud Cathedral 84, 4-Annandale 110, 5-Little Falls 191, 6-St. John’s Prep 205, 7-Foley 233, 8-Holdingford 269, 9-Mora 287, 10-Pierz 288, 11-Pine City 314, 12-Zimmerman 316, 13-Royalton 345, 14-Eden Valley-Wakings/Kimball 373, 15-St. Cloud Christian 391, 16-Maple Lake 400, 17-Milaca 428, 18-Osakis 453, 19-Rush City 508, 20-Crosby-Ironton inc.
Individual winner: Luke Swanson (Northwest) 16:50.4
Brainerd results: 2-Thomas Ruhl 17:02.3, 9-Adam Cady 17:28.3, 16-Braden Capelle 17:47.6, 18-Michael Kuehn 17:59.4, 22-Bennet Capelle 18:13.8, 25-Baden Baastian 18:18.66, 45-Steve Selisker 18:56.6
Crosby-Ironton results: 120-AJ Westin 22:00.3, 123-Michael Anderson 22:24.3
Little Falls results: 6-Wyatt Baum 17:20.5, 42-Grant Connor 18:51.4, Isaac Larsen 19:04.4, 52-Ben Knopik 19:09.7, 71-William Sprang 19:53.4, 79-Alexander Oberton 20:14.0
Pierz results: 15-Ethan Kowalczyk 17:43.7, Guy Clemons-Virnig 19:06.4, 55-Nathan Tax 19:14.3, 68-Wyatt Betsinger 19:45.3, 110-Gunther Dodge 21:18.9, 117-Nathan Becker 21:28.0, 121-Kaleb Poser 22:00.3

Girls results
Team scores: 1-St. Cloud Cathedral 37, 2-Brainerd 76, 3-Howard Lake-Waverly 119, 4-Northwest 135, 5-Annandale 147, 6-Pierz, 7-Zimmerman 209, 8-Little Falls 214, 9-Hinckley-Finlayson 238, 10-Pine City 251, 11-Foley 292, 12-Maple Lake 300, 13-Eden Valley-Watkins 302, 14-Holdingford 319, 15-Crosby-Ironton 340, 16-Mora 364, 17-Rush City 513
Individual winner: Hailee Zimpel (Zimmerman) 19:10.7
Brainerd results: 4-Hannah Drietz 19:56.4, 9-Madelyn Miller 20:21.6, 22-Brooke Wenz 21:21.2, 24-Julia Rademacher 21:39.7, 25-Liliana Schaeffer 21:41.1, 37-Annelise Baird 22:07.5
Crosby-Ironton results: 43-Emily Miller 22:15.4, 53-Anna Westin 22:40.8, 72-Ruby Westin 23:44.2, 95-Gabby Rosecrans 25:20.5, 106-Annaliese Vignieri 26:03.4, Londyn Eastwood 30:33.4
Little Falls results: 7-Ayla Anez 20:14.6, 46-Grace Wamre 22:22.6, 47-Beth Ahlin 22:24.8, 57-Aliza Kresha 22:53.1, 71-Jadyn Ruttn 23:37.4, 81-Avery Smieja 24:06.5
Pierz results: 20-Chloe Lochner 21:17.9, 30-Carissa Andres 21:56.9, 31-Eden Andres 21:58.4, 55-Morgan Litke 22:50.1, 68-Emma Kowalczyk 23:32.6, 85-Laura Young 24:21.3, 100-Erin Thesing 25:42.4
Next: Brainerd at University of Minnesota Invite 9 a.m. Friday, Sept. 24; Little Falls at Rocori Invite 4:15 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 23; Crosby-Ironton, Pierz at Milica Mega Meet 9 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 25.

Thomas Ruhl

Covering the Brainerd lakes area sports scene for the past 23 years.
What To Read Next
Brainerd hosts Sartell Tuesday, Jan. 31.
Two area boys hockey teams hit the ice Tuesday, Jan. 31.
Seven area girls basketball teams were in action Tuesday, Jan. 31
The Brainerd Warriors traveled to Bemidji Tuesday, Jan. 31.