The National Joint Powers Alliance Wednesday recognized 38 area educators for their work and the impact they've had on students.

The NJPA Teachers of Excellence Awards Banquet, held at Grand View Lodge, honored 38 educators for their commitment to excellence and demonstration of best practices and leadership in education, which has led to increased student learning, according to a news release.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

The 2016 award recipients were: Elise LeMay, Bertha-Hewitt School; Wendy Gindorff, Cuyuna Range Elementary School; Kristine Andersen, Crosby-Ironton High School; Annette Klang, Crosslake Community School; Kami Van Hal, Eagle Valley School; Anthony Kula, Little Falls Community High School; Joel Holey, Little Falls Community Middle School; Roger Fregin, Little Falls: Dr S.G. Knight Elementary School; Tony Kathrein, Little Falls: Lincoln Elementary School; Gail Geyer, Little Falls: Lindbergh Elementary School; Laura Koeffers, Long Prairie Grey Eagle Elementary School; Isaiah Hahn, Menahga High School; Mindi Brill, Pequot Lakes Eagle View Elementary School; Karin Wolter, Pequot Lakes Middle School; David Guenther, Pequot Lakes High School; Keith Magsam, Pierz Pioneer Elementary School; Sara Underhill, Pierz Healy High School; Darla Marcy, Pillager Elementary School; Jordan Herman, Pillager Middle School; Jacob Mehr, Pillager High School; Vicki Burnside, Royalton Elementary School; Randy Thielges, Royalton High School; Brenda Wegscheid, Sebeka School; Robin Kautto, Staples Elementary School; LaRae Bjorge, Staples-Motley Middle School; Char Binek, Staples-Motley High School; Donna Bestland, Staples-Motley Connections High School; Neal Weisz, Swanville Elementary School; Pam Czech, Swanville High School; Curtis Robertson, Upsala High School; Holly Becker, Wadena-Deer Creek Middle/High School; Thomas McIver, Walker-Hackensack- Akeley High School; Margaret Grondahl, Freshwater Education District.

The Team of Educational Excellence Award went to Anita Larson, Becky Abbott, Michelle Brekken and Laura DeChaine from Little Falls Community School. The Leader of Educational Excellence Award went to Catherine Bettino of Pine-River Backus Schools.

NJPA is a public service agency committed to providing cooperative solutions that assist government, education, and nonprofit entities as they strive for efficient public service. NJPA serves Cass, Wadena, Crow Wing, Todd and Morrison counties.