Area high school seniors gain Elks scholarships

Brainerd Dispatch logo with news spelled out in block letters
Contributed / Metro Newspaper Service

Several area high school seniors were awarded scholarships through the Brainerd Elks Lodge 615 and Elks National Foundation programs.

Annually, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks donates more than $4.3 million to 500 deserving seniors nationally through the Elks National Foundation Most Valuable Student Scholarship program.

Molly Wells, a Brainerd High School student, is a $4,000 state recipient. She is enrolling at the College of St. Benedict and pursuing an elementary education degree.

Two Elks National Foundation Legacy Awards were presented to area graduates. Each award is $4,000 and goes to children or grandchildren of Elk members.

Helen Knudson, BHS, is registering at St. Thomas to study biology and Spanish. Sierra Wroolie, Nevis High School, will head to Iowa State University to become an architect.


McKenzie Cheney, Pierz High School, and Noah Barnhart, BHS, were selected recipients of $1,400 Central Lakes College scholarships awarded from the Brainerd Elks Lodge. Barnhart plans to study theater and English while Cheney will follow a videography program.

In memory of Joe and Donna Masanz, a $1,000 CLC nursing scholarship was presented to Rachael Oie, Pillager High School.

Brainerd Elks Lodge Most Valuable Student scholarships of $1,000 each go to Megan Tschida of Pequot Lakes High School and Luke Meyer of BHS. Tschida will be enrolling at University of Minnesota Duluth to follow social work while Meyer will study the field of mathematics at University of Minnesota Moorhead.

Lodge 615 also presented Student of the Month awards of $250 each to Macey Roach, Crosby-Ironton; Katelyn Steffes, Aitkin; Emily Rubbelke, Pillager; Hannah Oelke, Pequot Lakes; Kansas Tilbury, Pine River-Backus; and Quin Villwock, Brainerd.

What To Read Next
Get Local