Crow Wing County Sheriff Scott Goddard announced three local recipients of the Minnesota Sheriff's Association Scholarship program for 2019 — Alexander Vukelich, Kortny Villnow and Masen Barton.

The association awards scholarships each year to people planning to become Minnesota peace officers. The applicants apply through their local sheriff's offices. This year, the scholarship committee chose 22 recipients.

The members of the Minnesota Sheriff's Association offered their congratulations to each of the scholarship winners in a news release.

“The qualifications and academic excellence shown by this awardee reflect the dedication and pride of the young people in Minnesota who will enter the difficult but rewarding profession of law enforcement and public service,” the release stated.

For additional information on the Minnesota Sheriff's Association, visit