Field of candidates grows for Brainerd School Board race

Photo illustration, Metro Creative Graphics, Inc.

Another new candidate entered the race for the Brainerd School Board, marking four non-incumbents running to bring a different perspective to the district’s governing body.

With the Nov. 3 Election Day looming on the calendar, 2020’s second filing period is coming together as hopefuls declare themselves for local public office across Crow Wing, Morrison, Aitkin, Todd, Wadena, Mille Lacs and Cass counties.

Candidates can declare to seek election for area city, township, school board and special district seats during the current filing period that began July 28 and extends through Tuesday, Aug. 11.

This includes municipalities without a primary election, which is the general rule in the area with the exception of Brainerd. The general election is Nov. 3. The filing fee is $2, paid to city, township or school office clerks.

The following candidates filed between 8 a.m. Thursday, Aug. 6, and 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 7. Directions for the filing process can be found at .


Cities and townships

Breezy Point City Council (Elect Two)

  • Lee Brisbin.

  • Gary Mitchell (incumbent).

Nisswa City Council (Elect Two)

  • Ross Krautkremer.

Pequot Lakes City Council (Elect Two)

  • Scott Pederson (incumbent).

Birch Township Town Supervisor 1

  • Erik Jacobson (incumbent).

School districts

Brainerd School Board

  • Amanda (Ciesinski) Chan.

Crosby-Ironton School Board

  • Tommy Sablan (incumbent).

What To Read Next
Get Local


Must Reads