Weather Forecast


Brainerd man buried in avalanche dies in New Mexico hospital

Cass County Board: Outreach launched on Cass polling locations

BENA—If Cass County residents don't vote this fall, it certainly isn't going to be the county's fault if Elections Administrator Sharon Anderson has anything to say about it.

She updated the county board Tuesday with additional outreach she has planned.

Anderson listed about 60 central and north-central Minnesota radio stations where she plans to provide public information.

So, it does not matter whether people like country or rock or classical music, Christian programming or talk shows. People will hear public information about when and where and how to vote in Cass County.

Anderson also has added a pre-ballot postcard mailing to alert people about when to expect their mailed ballot in those precincts which have gone to mailed balloting.

Tuesday, she presented a list of locations closer to home where people can cast absentee ballots in addition to the courthouse in Walker. Absentee voting would be during normal business hours, which are 8 a.m. to 4:30 the courthouse, but may vary at city halls.

If a township is not on the following list, then the courthouse in Walker would be the only location for a resident to vote absentee.

East Gull Lake residents may vote absentee at East Gull Lake City Hall, 10790 Squaw Point Road, East Gull Lake.

Fairview Township and Lake Shore residents can vote absentee at Lake Shore City Hall, 8583 Interlachen Road, Lake Shore.

Becker, Homebrook, May, Meadowbrook townships; Cass County portion of Motley; and city of Pillager residents can vote absentee at Pillager City Hall, 306 Elm Ave. W.

Barclay, Loon Lake, Maple, Pine River, Walden and Wilson townships and cities of Chickamaw Beach and Pine River residents can vote absentee at Pine River City Hall.

Beulah, Boy Lake, Boy River, Crooked Lake, Inguadona, Lima, Remer, Salem, Slater, Smokey Hollow, Thunder Lake and Torrey townships; the unorganized townships of Wahnena and Willow River; and the cities of Boy River and Remer can vote absentee at Remer City Hall, 106 Spruce St. N., Remer.

Gould, Ottertail Peninsula, Pike Bay and Wilkinson townships; unorganized townships of Sucker Lakes and Winnie Portage Lakes; and cities of Bena, Cass Lake and Federal Dam can vote absentee at Leech Lake Reservation Tribal Headquarters, 190 Sailstar Drive NW, Cass Lake.

Sylvan Township residents can vote absentee at Sylvan Town Hall, 12956 24th Ave. SW, Pillager.