New Pequot Lakes School Board members Dena Moody and Tracy Wallin - along with re-elected member Derrek Johnson - gave their oaths of office in the board's first meeting of 2019.

As part of the board's annual reorganizational meeting Monday, Jan. 7, Kim Bolz-Andolshek was elected board chair. She replaces Mike Erholtz, who has served as chair for the past four years.

Curt Johnson and Susan Mathison-Young were elected to remain vice chair and clerk//treasurer, respectively. The three officers were the sole nominees in each category.

The board then voted for member salaries to remain at $250 per month, with the board chair receiving an additional $100 and officers an additional $50.

Board members voted to be compensated $100 for any extra full-day meetings and $50 for half-day meetings. Appointments for vacant task force and liaison positions will be made in the coming weeks.

Additionally, the Echo Journal was named the district's official newspaper.

In other action, the board:

• Approved the installation of KC Companies Inc. logos on two basketball shooting machines. The company donated $10,000 to purchase the machines for the girls and boys basketball programs. Bolz-Andolshek said the application of these logos falls in line with the district's advertising policy.

• Accepted seven donations to the district totalling $6,777.19.

As part of its consent agenda, the board approved leaves of absence for FACS teach Kristen Gabrielson and first-grade teacher Erin Traxler. Board members also approved the hiring of Health Office licensed practical nurse Nicole Klein, van driver Lori Larson and paraprofessional Tara Sikich.