Weather Forecast


Spring burning restrictions begin in Minnesota

ST. PAUL - The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has restricted open burning, effective Tuesday, April 23, for 20 counties, all mainly in the central part of the state.

The DNR says warm temperatures and dry conditions have increased the wildfire risk. Therefore, Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Douglas, Grant, Hennepin, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Sherburne, Stearns, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Washington and Wright counties are under an open burning ban.

The state will not issue burning permits for brush or yard waste in these counties until restrictions are lifted.

McCoy encourages residents to use alternatives to burning, such as composting, chipping, or taking brush to a collection site. For information on how to compost yard debris, visit the DNR’s guide to composting yard debris.

People who burn debris will be held financially responsible if their fire escapes and burns other property, the DNR says.

For information and daily updates on current fire risk and open burning restrictions, visit the Minnesota DNR website.

Forum News Service

The Forum Communications News Service is the premier news wire service covering the Upper Midwest, including the Dakotas, Minnesota and Wisconsin. In addition to breaking and enterprise news, we offer a wide variety of sports, features, business, agriculture, outdoors and opinion content. For more information about the services we offer or to discuss content subscriptions, please contact us.