Kim Bolz-Andolshek was re-elected as Pequot Lakes School Board chair, as was Curt Johnson as vice chair. Tracy Wallin was elected as clerk/treasurer of the board, succeeding Susan Mathison-Young.

Also Monday, Jan. 6, the board set its meeting schedule to follow the pattern of the previous year - work sessions on the first Monday of the month and regular meetings on the third Monday of the month, with the exception of February and December when the regular meetings will be held on the second Monday.

Salaries for board members and officers will remain at $250 per month, with an additional $100 for the chair and $50 for the clerk/treasurer. Board member Mike Erholtz said he believes those totals have not changed in 15 or more years.

The board named the Echo Journal its official newspaper.

Bolz-Andolshek, Erholtz and Mathison-Young will serve on the district’s negotiations team. Curt Johnson will serve as liaison to the district advisory council, the Minnesota Rural Education Association and the family service collaborative, with Derrek Johnson serving as an alternate for the latter.

Wallin will serve as liaison to the Minnesota School Board Association and the Paul Bunyan Education Cooperative (with Erholtz as an alternate) and Dena Moody will be the liaison to the Minnesota State High School League. Bolz-Andolshek will serve as the credit review liaison and Mathison-Young will serve as liaison to the Community Education Advisory Council.

In other action Monday, the board:

  • Approved a memorandum of understanding with Education Minnesota-Pequot Lakes, stating educators need prior written approval from a superior for extra time worked over the 180 contract days, and appropriate documentation must be submitted

  • Accepted two donations to the district - both for lunch accounts of students in need - totaling $295.31.

  • Approved the resignation of high school English teacher Catherine Welshons, the hiring of paraprofessional Amanda Foty and leaves of absence for paraprofessional Doris Young, high school counselor Alison Ross and Minnesota Automated Reporting Student System/Assessment Secretary Cassie Berg.